Before you get started
You can't change the name on your license by mail. Washington State law requires drivers who want to change the name on their license to apply for a new license at a driver licensing office. You can still request a replacement license by mail and it will show the name currently on your license.
If your driver license is lost or stolen while you're out of Washington State
You can replace your license by mail if:
- Your license is in good standing (not suspended, revoked, surrendered, or canceled)
- You won't be back in Washington within 30 days
- You have a valid social security number on file with us
You may renew a motorcycle endorsement along with your driver license for an additional $25 fee.
If you wish to surrender your motorcycle endorsement, you must submit a Notice of Surrender (English, Español, Русский, and more) form with your application. Mail this form to:
Department of Licensing
646 Okoma Dr Ste E
Omak WA 98841
If you surrender your motorcycle endorsement, you must pass all applicable tests and pay the fees to get an endorsement again.
Your replacement license
- Expires on the same date as your lost or stolen license
- Includes your motorcycle endorsement, if applicable
- Is not valid for identification and will not have your picture or signature on it
- Will be sent to the address on your application
You may restore the photo and signature by visiting a driver licensing office.
Some licenses disqualify you from replacements by mail
Enhanced Driver License
You can't replace an Enhanced Driver License (EDL) by mail. You must visit a driver licensing office to renew or replace your license when you return to Washington.
If your EDL is lost or stolen while you're out of state and you won't return to Washington State within 30 days, you may surrender your EDL/EID and renew or replace your regular driver license by mail. Learn more about replacing Enhanced Driver Licenses.
Commercial Driver License
You can't replace a commercial driver license (CDL) by mail. However, you can surrender your CDL and renew or replace your regular driver license.
To renew or replace your driver license without a CDL, submit a Commercial Driver License Notice of Surrender (English, Español, Русский, and more) with your replacement/renewal request. You'll have up to 1 year to reinstate your CDL without providing proof of training or taking required tests. When you return to Washington, visit a driver licensing office to reinstate your CDL.
How to replace your license by mail
1. Send us all the following:
- A completed Driver License Renewal/Replacement Request While Out-of-State form
- Any supporting documents required for license restrictions:
- A check or money order for the card replacement fee(s) (payable to the Department of Licensing)
2. Mail the completed form and fee to:
PO Box 9048
Olympia, WA 98507-9048
What if I haven't received my driver license yet?
To learn how to replace your driver license if you're serving in the military outside of Washington State, see resources for military personnel.