Learn how to renew or replace your Commercial Driver License (CDL) if you lost yours or when it’s time to renew.
You must renew at a driver license office if you:
- Need to surrender your CDL.
- Are upgrading to a higher class, adding and/or removing endorsements or restrictions.
- Are renewing with hazardous material endorsement (HME).
- Have a non-domicile CDL
- Need to provide Lawful Permanent Residency or U.S. Citizenship documents.
- Are changing your self-certification status.
- If your online transaction doesn't allow you to.
Make an appointment at a driver license office.
Renew your Hazardous Material Endorsement
Before you renew your HME, you must:
- Complete an HME background check with the Transportation Security Administration (TSA). The HME clearance must be on your drive record.
- You should start the background check 90 days before you renew your license.
- TSA will notify us when they complete your background check.
- Pass a knowledge test.
- If you have never had an HME, training must be on your record before taking the test.
- You must verify any previous HME you've had if it wasn't on your last issuance.
Your license will expire when your hazmat clearance expires.
Don't wait to renew!
You can renew up to:
- 1 year before your license expires (usually on your birthday)
- 60 days after it's expired.
- There's an extra $10 fee to renew.
- You could get ticketed by law enforcement if you have an expired license.
What if I'm out of the state?
You can't renew, replace, or extend your CDL if you're out of the state. You can surrender your CDL and renew, replace, or extend your regular driver license by mail.
- Renew or extend your driver license while out of state
- Replace your driver license while out of state
Be sure you mail all required documents and payment together to the correct address.
You have up to 2 years after surrender to reinstate your CDL without providing proof of training or taking required tests. This doesn't apply to the hazmat knowledge test. A knowledge test is required anytime you add, transfer, or renew your license.
When you return to Washington, make an appointment at a driver licensing office to reinstate your CDL.
If you're in Washington, you can't mail in a CDL surrender to complete an online transaction. You must visit a license service office.