Information for supervisors

Learn the rules and registration process to be an appraiser supervisor.

Supervisor eligibility requirements

To supervise up to 3 trainees

  • 3 years of state-certified real estate appraisal experience
  • 3 years in "good standing" immediately preceding supervisory application
  • Successful completion of the Supervisory Appraiser/Trainee Appraiser course

How to request an exception for more than 3 trainees

If you have already been approved to supervise up to 3 trainees, you'll need to email an exception request to to supervise an additional amount of trainees. Exceptions will not be granted for more than 8 trainees under one supervisor.

Your request must include:

  • The names, license numbers, and first license issuance dates of all trainees you wish to train
  • If applicable, the names and license numbers of all additional certified appraisers who will also supervise the trainees
  • If applicable, the names and license numbers of each primary supervisor for each trainee
  • Explain how you will ensure the trainees are provided sufficient supervision and experience
  • If there are multiple supervisors, each supervisor must be (or is in the process to be) approved as a supervisor

Each time you want to add a trainee or exchange a trainee for another, you are required to submit an updated request and plan.

Supervisory registration application

If you meet all of the requirements, you can register online or by mail. Please allow at least 5 business days to process your application before you plan to start supervising a trainee.

Submit your application online

You'll receive your registration faster by applying online.

Log into SecureAccess Washington (SAW)

Don't have a SAW account? Learn how to create a SAW account.

To complete and submit your registration, you will need the following:

  • Supervisory Appraiser/Trainee Appraiser course completion certificate, ready to upload
  • If you are not already approved as a supervisor and wish to supervise more than 3 trainees, you will be required to upload your written request

Submit your application by mail

Complete the Real Estate Appraiser Supervisor Registration form.

Mail your registration form, the completion certificate for the Supervisory Appraiser/Trainee Appraiser course, and the check or money order for the license fee (payable to the Department of Licensing) to:

Real Estate Appraiser Program
Department of Licensing
PO Box 9021
Olympia, WA 98507-9021

No longer supervising a trainee?

You must report when you're no longer supervising a trainee. The supervisor and trainee relationship stops automatically when a trainee becomes licensed or certified.

You can report your supervisor/trainee break online or by mail.

Report online

You can Log into SecureAccess Washington (SAW) or create an account to end the relationship.

  • A trainee can choose to break the relationship from their online account
  • A notification will automatically be sent to both you and the trainee

Report by mail

Complete and submit the Real Estate Appraiser Supervisor Registration form and mail it to:

Real Estate Appraiser Program
Department of Licensing
PO Box 9021
Olympia, WA 98507-9021

Related laws and responsibilities

Need additional help? Here's how to contact us:

call Phone: 360-664-6504
Was this information helpful?