Learn the requirements and how to get your registered tow truck operator business license.
You must follow all applicable laws and rules, even if they're not covered below.
Who needs a license?
You must be licensed to:
- Transport, impound, or store unauthorized vehicles
- Dispose of abandoned vehicles
Before you apply
Before applying for your license, you must get zoning approval for your business and an inspection of your business site.
Fill out the certification and approval form
Download or print the Vehicle Transport/Disposal Addendum.
Complete section A of the Vehicle Transport/Disposal Certification and Approval form.
Get zoning approval
Have your local zoning authority complete and sign section B of the Vehicle Transport/Disposal Certification and Approval form.
Schedule an inspection
Before you apply for a license, a law enforcement officer must inspect your business site.
Schedule an inspection with the Washington State Patrol and submit the inspection report with your application.
How to apply
After you get zoning approval and your inspection is complete, follow the steps below to apply for a registered tow truck operator license.
Note: We issue this license, but the Department of Revenue's Business Licensing Service (BLS) processes it. BLS prints it on the business license they provide. They refer to licenses we issue as endorsements to the business license.
1. Complete the required documents
Complete these forms to apply for your business license:
- Business License Application
- Vehicle Transport/Disposal Addendum (sections A and B on pages 1 and 3)
- Registered Tow Truck Operator Official Fees
- Original Tow Truck–Business–Operator–Equipment Inspection Report (issued by the Washington State Patrol)
- Driver list (names and addresses of all your employees who will drive a tow truck)
Use the Vehicle, Vessel, Vehicle Manufacturer, Registered Tow Truck Operator, or Wrecker Business Bond or a form from the bonding company.
You can get a bond through an insurance company. On the bond form, the principal name must be exactly the same as both the business owner and business firm name. Both you and the bonding company's attorney-in-fact must sign the form.
Proof of insurance
You must show proof that your business has:
- $100,000 liability insurance for bodily injury or property damage
- $50,000 garage keepers insurance
2. Review the checklist
Use the Registered Tow Truck Operator Checklist to make sure you have everything ready for your application.
3. Submit your application
You must pay the registered tow truck operator license and permit fees to the Department of Revenue when you apply. Choose the method that works best for you.
Apply for your license online
You'll receive your license faster by applying and paying online.
Apply online at the Department of Revenue's website.
Apply for your license by mail
Mail your forms and a check or money order for the license and permit fees (payable to the Department of Revenue) to:
State of Washington
Business Licensing Service
PO Box 9034
Olympia, WA 98507-9034
After you get your license
Once you have your license, you must: