Learn how to renew or update your concealed pistol license (CPL), view fees, and what to do before renewing.
Things to know
- You must renew through a law enforcement agency.
- CPLs expire every 5 years.
- You can renew your CPL up to 90 days before it expires.
- The renewal fee is $32.
- The late renewal fee (up to 90 days after expiration) is $42.
- If your CPL is more than 90 days past its expiration, you must apply for a new CPL
How to renew your license
Some agencies provide online renewal options whereas others do not. Renewals cannot be done over the phone.
Contact your local law enforcement agency (LEA) to renew your CPL. They'll give you specific renewal instructions, including:
- Where to go
- What to bring
- Renewal fees
If you've moved and no longer live in the jurisdiction that processed your CPL, contact the LEA in your new jurisdiction and they will give your CPL information to us.
Please do not mail a copy of your CPL to us.
If you were out of state on military orders during the renewal period
You have 90 days after returning to Washington from out‑of‑state military service to renew your CPL. Please contact or visit your local Washington State law enforcement agency to get information on where to go and whom to speak with.
By law, we must keep information about CPLs issued by law enforcement. We mail renewal notices to you that include our logo. You will receive a renewal notice in the mail or by email if we have it on file. We do not process CPL renewals.
- Concealed pistol license — Application — Fee — Renewal (RCW 9.41.070)