Learn how to renew your limousine business license.
- You must renew your license every year
- You can renew up to 120 days before your license expires
- There will be a late fee if you don't renew before the expiration
- You must follow all applicable laws and rules, even if they're not covered below
Before you renew
You must complete a renewal application form and provide supporting documents if needed.
Update your contact information online, if necessary, before you renew your license.
How to renew your license
Follow these steps to renew your license.
1. Follow the name requirements
If your documents don't meet these name requirements, it may take longer to process your renewal.
- Your vehicle registration certificates and certificate of liability insurance must include the business name.
- If you have a "doing business as" (DBA) name on your business license, you must include it on the vehicle registration certificates and certificate of liability insurance.
- The business name (and DBA if applicable) must be the same or very similar on all documents.
2. Gather the required documents
You must complete the following forms before renewing your license.
Add or remove chauffeurs
Include a Limousine Carrier Chauffeur Addendum if you need to add or remove a chauffeur from your license.
Include these certificates if you need to add a vehicle to your license:
- Vehicle registration certificate for each limousine with use class F/H (See a sample registration)
- Updated certificate of liability insurance showing:
- Policy number
- Name of the insured (business owner's name)
- Effective and expiration dates
- Insurance company name (must be approved to do business in Washington)
- $1,050,000 minimum combined single-limit coverage
- Year, make, and VIN of each car (VIN must match the vehicle registration)
- The certificate holder box must say:
State of Washington
Dept of Licensing
PO Box 9039
Olympia, WA 98507–9039
Inspection report for each vehicle
You can include reports up to 4 months old with your renewal.
3. Submit your renewal
You must pay the following limousine license and vehicle fees when you renew:
- Business Licensing Service renewal fee
- Limousine carrier license fee
- Vehicle certificate fees
- Vehicle inspection fees (Note: You only need to pay this fee if the Washington State Patrol inspected your vehicle.)
Choose the method that works best for you.
Renew your license online
You'll receive your license faster by renewing and paying online.
Renew online at the Department of Revenue's website.
Renew your license by mail
To renew by mail, follow the instructions on your renewal notice.
If you did not receive a renewal notice, contact the Department of Revenue's Business Licensing Service at 360-705-6741. Have your Unified Business Identification (UBI) number ready.
Mail your form and a check or money order for the renewal fees (payable to the Department of Revenue) to:
State of Washington
Business Licensing Service
PO Box 9034
Olympia, WA 98507-9034
4. After you renew
You will receive your business license from the Department of Revenue at the address you have on file.
Limousine carriers must follow important recordkeeping requirements for their business, vehicles, and chauffeurs. For more information, read about recordkeeping and business practices.