
AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 15-10-005, filed 4/22/15, effective 
5/23/15)

WAC 308-96A-073  Antique vehicle—Horseless carriage license 
plate.  (1) What is a horseless carriage license plate? A horseless 
carriage license plate is a single license plate issued to a qualified 
motor vehicle owned by a collector as defined in RCW 46.04.125. It 
must be displayed on the rear of the vehicle for which it was issued.

(2) What vehicles qualify for a horseless carriage license plate? 
Any motor vehicle which is:

(a) ((At least forty years old)) Manufactured or built before 
January 1, 1916; and

(b) Capable of being operated upon the highway; and
(c) Currently registered in Washington; and
(d) Operated primarily as a collector vehicle under RCW 

46.18.220.
(3) May I transfer my horseless carriage license plate to another 

antique vehicle? No. Horseless carriage license plates are not trans-
ferable to any other motor vehicle.

(4) What additional fees are required to obtain a horseless car-
riage license plate? In addition to all other license fees required by 
law, the applicant must pay a fee of ((thirty-five dollars)) $35 for a 
horseless carriage license plate.

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 19-16-146, filed 8/7/19, effective 
9/7/19)

WAC 308-96A-074  Collector vehicle and restored license plates. 
(1) What is a collector vehicle license plate? For the purposes of 
this section, a collector vehicle license plate is a special license 
plate indicating "Collector Vehicle." The smaller size collector vehi-
cle license plate is available for motorcycles and travel trailers. 
Collector vehicle owners must conform to the rules under RCW 
46.18.220.

(2) What vehicles qualify for a collector vehicle license plate? 
The vehicle must:

(a) Be at least 30 years old; and
(b) Have valid Washington state registration.
(3) What must be provided to qualify for a collector vehicle li-

cense plate? An applicant must:
(a) Provide proof of ownership and a valid registration certifi-

cate for a second vehicle that will be used for daily driving, commut-
ing, or business purposes; and

(b) Provide proof of a current vehicle liability insurance policy 
or a collector vehicle insurance policy for the collector vehicle, 
with limits of at least the amounts listed under RCW 46.29.090.

(4) What fees are required to obtain a collector vehicle license 
plate? In addition to all other license fees required by law, the ap-
plicant must pay an additional fee of ((thirty-five dollars)) $35.

(((3))) (5) What is a "restored license plate"? A restored li-
cense plate is a Washington state issued license plate designated for 
general use in the year of the vehicle's manufacture. The restored li-
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cense plate may not be a specialized license plate. The restored li-
cense plate may be used instead of a collector vehicle license plate 
or horseless carriage license plate. The license plate must be re-
stored to such a condition that it may be identified with the year of 
the vehicle's manufacture. Reproductions of the original are not ac-
ceptable for use as a restored license plate.

(((4))) (6) How is a restored license plate to be displayed? The 
owner must display a single plate on the rear of the vehicle. If the 
vehicle owner has two identical license plates, the second license 
plate may be displayed on the front of the vehicle.

(((5))) (7) If I sell my vehicle may I keep my restored license 
plate? Yes. The restored plate(s) may be reassigned to another quali-
fying vehicle.

(((6))) (8) May I replace my restored license plate with another 
restored license plate? Yes, however, your vehicle record must be up-
dated with the department to reflect the new plate number before it 
may be displayed on the vehicle.

(((7))) (9) What fees are required to have a restored license 
plate assigned to my vehicle? In addition to all other title and li-
cense fees required by law, you must pay an additional fee of ((thir-
ty-five dollars)) $35.

(((8))) (10) Will I be able to apply for a refund of fees if I 
decide to change my restored use plate to a regular issue plate? No. 
There is no provision in the law to issue a refund.

(((9))) (11) May I apply the fees I paid for my restored plate 
towards the purchase of regular issued plates? No. Full fees must be 
paid for the new plates.
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