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1.1 Background and authority 

The Department of Licensing (DOL) is responsible for regulating and enforcing 

the rules for driver training schools, their owners, and instructors. The 

Department's role in regulating driver training schools ensures that students 

receive high-quality instruction, contributing to safer roads and drivers in 

Washington State. This authority comes from the following laws: 

RCW 18.235 Uniform Regulation of Business and Professions Act 

RCW 46.82 Driver Training Schools 

WAC 308-108 Driver Training Schools 

These laws give DOL the power to oversee and ensure compliance with the 

required standards and practices. 

DOL is responsible for regulating: 

• Licensing of driver training schools, instructors, and operators.  

• Ensuring compliance with curriculum and instructional standards. 

• Inspecting facilities, vehicles, and records. 

• Investigating complaints and enforcing penalties for violations. 

For questions regarding regulations, processes, and enforcements, use 

the following email and telephone numbers to contact the Driver Training 

School Program or search driver training schools on dol.wa.gov. 
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Driver Training School (DTS) Program 

Telephone: 360-902-3703 

Email: tse@dol.wa.gov

1.2 Initial Driver Training School License 

According to state law, you must have a license from the Department of 
Licensing to operate a driver training school.  

To get a license, applicants must meet the state's requirements for business 
ownership, facility standards, vehicle standards, and follow DOL program 
guidelines. 

An initial driver training school license must meet the minimum requirements 
of RCW 46.82.310, RCW 46.82.360, and WAC 308.108.  

To apply for a driver training school license, you must: 

• Create a Secure Access Washington (SAW) account 
• Add the DOL Professional and Business Licensing Service (PBLS) 
• Select Create Business Account 
• Select Other Business 
• Complete a Driver Training School application, and provide: 

o Unified Business Identifier (UBI) number showing an active 
business license issued by the Secretary of State and/or 
Department of Revenue   

o Lease, usage agreement, or proof of ownership for the driver 
training school location 

o Proof of insurance for location and vehicle(s) 
o Vehicle registration(s)  
o DTS Supplemental Declaration for Online Application form 
o Driver Training School Curriculum Submission form 

https://dol.wa.gov/forms/view/661040/download?inline
mailto:tse@dol.wa.gov
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o Flow chart  
o Classroom final assessment and answer sheet 
o Student classroom record  
o Student behind-the-wheel record 
o Driver training school policies 
o Name of business 
o Location(s) where services are provided, in standard USPS format 
o Contact information, including: 

 Phone number 
 Email address 
 Website (if applicable) 

o Language(s) training course services are offered in 
o Course offerings, including: 

 Driver training education course 
 Adult course 
 Course cost(s) 

o Pay a non-refundable $500 licensing fee 

*If an application is incomplete, it will remain on file for 120 days. After that 
period, the application will be considered abandoned.
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License issuance process 

Once DOL receives a complete and acceptable application, an auditor will 
schedule an inspection of the school and its vehicle(s). An inspection cannot 
occur until the facility and vehicle(s) are ready for use. 

After the business location, records, and vehicle(s) are inspected and 
determined to meet the required standards, the school will be issued a one-
year license. 

The school’s license must be clearly displayed at every location before the 
school can: 

• Schedule, enroll, or accept students for any courses.  
• Provide students with verification of enrollment. 
• Start any classroom or behind-the-wheel instruction. 

* Enrollment means collecting a fee or the signing of a contract for a driver 
training education course but doesn't include collecting names or contact 
information. 

*An instructor license must be linked with a school license to become active.
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2.1 Facility Requirements 

Lease or usage agreement 

• A lease or usage agreement must be submitted at the time of initial 
licensing and annual renewal, and must include:  

o Effective dates 
o Location address  
o Signatures by both parties (lessee and lessor) 

School locations 

School locations must meet the requirements of RCW 46.82.360 and WAC 
308.108.100, including: 

• Have a dedicated location that is owned, rented, or leased by the 
school and regularly occupied and used exclusively for driver 
instruction. 

• Be in a district zoned for business or commercial purposes or zoned for 
conditional use permits for schools, trade schools, or colleges. 

• It cannot be located within 1,000 feet of a Department of Licensing 
office where driver’s license examinations are conducted. This distance 
is measured along public streets by the nearest route. 

• It cannot be in any of the following:  
o House trailers 
o Residences  
o Tents 
o Temporary stands or addresses 
o Buses 
o Hotel rooms, rooming houses, apartment houses, single/multi-

unit dwellings 
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• Cannot be a telephone answering service, if such service is the sole 
means of contacting the driver training school. 

Classroom space requirements 

A driver training school classroom space must meet all the requirements of 
RCW 46.82.360, WAC 308.108.100, and WAC 308.108.120, including: 

• Provide enough seats and table or desk space for all students in the 
class. 

• Ensure the number of students attending does not exceed the city's fire 
code requirements for the classroom. 

• Be fully equipped with all necessary tools and materials for effective 
student training and instruction. 

• Separated by walls, partitions, or alternate scheduling if it shares a 
space with the business office or reception area in order to avoid 
interference from other activities. 

2.2 Vehicle requirements 

Submitting vehicle registration information 

Vehicle registration must be submitted for each vehicle prior to use by the 
driver training school for the purposes of instruction or examination and 
include: 

• Make, model, year, and vehicle identification number (VIN) number of 
vehicle(s) 

• License plate number 
• Expiration date 
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Driver training vehicles 

Vehicles used for the purpose of driver instruction must meet the 
requirements of RCW 46.82.360 and WAC 308.108.110, including:  

• Dual controls for the foot brake and clutch, or just the foot brake in 
vehicles with an automatic transmission. 

• An instructor's rearview mirror. 
• Signage with the words Student Driver, Instruction Car, or Driving 

School on top and/or back of the vehicle 
o The sign must be at least 20 inches wide and 10 inches tall.  
o Letters must be at least 2.5 inches high. 

• Signage with the school’s name and telephone number  
o Letters must be at least 1 inch high and located below the 

aforementioned text. 
• All vehicle text must: 

o Have lettering and background colors that make it readable from 
100 feet in clear daylight.  

o Be displayed when instruction is being given. 
• Fire extinguisher (fully charged and safely secured in the vehicle)  
• Emergency strobe light, a reflective triangle, or two 18-inch traffic cones 

for emergencies. 
• A first aid kit with at least 20 approved items which may include:  

o Bandages 
o Gloves  
o Dressings  
o Tweezers  
o Scissors  
o Medical tape  
o Antiseptic wipes 
o Cold compresses  
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o Eyewash 
o Thermal blanket 

Vehicles must be used only for driver training purposes whenever instruction 
is given. 

Vehicles failing to meet RCW motor vehicle equipment requirements or 
instructional standards, or otherwise could be cited by law enforcement, 
must not be used for instruction until deficiencies are corrected. 

Vehicles must undergo an annual inspection that meets DOL safety and 
equipment standards. Schools must complete a Driver Training School 
Vehicle Inspection Report annually to stay in compliance with requirements 
(see 5.1 Compliance Inspections). 

2.3 Insurance requirements 

Submitting insurance 

A copy of the certificate of liability insurance must be submitted and meet the 
requirements of RCW 46.82.310 and include: 

• The name and address of the insurance company 
o Coverage must be provided by a company authorized to do 

business in Washington State 
• Be issued in the name of the school 
• Policy number(s)  
• Effective date(s) 
• Expiration date(s) 
• Evidence of liability insurance coverage for the instruction vehicles and 

the building premises, which must minimally include: 
o $1 million in automobile liability coverage, covering both property 

damage and uninsured motorists. 

https://dol.wa.gov/forms/view/661021/download?inline
https://dol.wa.gov/forms/view/661021/download?inline
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• Year, make, model and VIN of vehicle(s)  
• Address of location(s) 
• The type of coverage, limits, and details. 
• List the certificate holder as: 

Department of Licensing 
Driver Training School Program 
PO Box 9027 
Olympia, WA  98507-9027 

*Insurance must be valid and maintained throughout the school’s license 
period. If there are any changes to the coverage, such as cancellation, 
expiration, or renewal, the school must notify DOL and provide proof of 
continuous coverage within 10 working days (see 4.3 Reporting 
Requirements). 

2.4 Form and record requirements 

DTS Supplemental Declaration for Online Application form 

Use this form to provide the signatures of all owners and substantial interest 
holders of a new driver training school when you apply online. This form is 
required to be uploaded with your online school application to meet 
requirements of RCW 46.82.360(5). 

Driver training school (DTS) policy 

Each driver training school must have a written policy for customers that 
minimally includes requirements of WAC 308-108-120: 

• Enrollment criteria 
• Student fees and refund policies 
• Rules for course failures and retaking the course 
• The minimum and maximum course duration 

https://dol.wa.gov/sites/default/files/forms/661043.pdf
https://dol.wa.gov/sites/default/files/forms/661043.pdf
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• A rule that students under 15 years old cannot attend the course 
• A rule that new students cannot join after the first three classes have 

been completed 
• Details about Washington’s intermediate license rules, restrictions, 

and penalties. The policy must also include a section where both the 
parent and student initial or sign to confirm they have received this 
information. 

*Signatures may be electronic, and electronic policy acknowledgement may 
include a check box and a disclaimer line (for example: I have read and agree 
to all the above). 

Course curriculum guide submission form 

WAC 308-108-155 

Submit the DOL Course Curriculum Guide Submission form for DOL review 
and approval upon application and whenever a change is made to your 
course. This component is where you will cross reference the required 
curriculum standards to the educational materials and lesson plans in your 
curriculum.  It provides a high-level overview of how and when each standard 
is covered in the course. 

Flow chart 

WAC 308-108-150 

This component will show the flow or progression of the course including the 
order of lessons, time spent on each lesson, and how the behind the wheel 
lessons build upon classroom lessons to meet learning objectives. It ensures 
that all required topics are covered in a logical and developmentally 
appropriate sequence. 

https://form/
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Final assessment and answer sheet 

WAC 308-108-170 

Submit a comprehensive course knowledge test (or tests) that covers all or 
many of the relevant details of the course curriculum that meets the 
standards established by the department. 

Student record(s) 

RCW 46.82.360, WAC 308-108-170, WAC 308-108-120 

Use DOL forms or ones substantially similar that have been approved by the 
department to collect essential information about students within the course, 
including: 

• Student name, address, telephone number 
• Date of enrollment 
• Course start and end dates 
• Student permit or driver’s license number 
• Total number of hours of instruction 
• Record the type of training given including: 

o If applicable, 4 hours of simulation including date(s) and time(s) 
o Observation date(s) and time(s) 
o Classroom instruction: 

 Dates and times for each session of classroom instruction 
 Classroom progress 
 Comprehensive assessment 
 Name and signature of the instructor(s) who provided each 

session of classroom instruction 
o Behind-the-wheel (BTW) instruction: 

 Dates and times for each session of BTW instruction  
 Comprehensive BTW skills assessment 
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 Descriptions of the drive skills and maneuvers covered on 
each drive and feedback on student performance 

 Name and signature of the instructor(s) who provided each 
session of BTW instruction and student initial
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3.1 Classroom duration and structure 

Driver training schools that provide education for persons under the age of 18 
must ensure it includes classroom instruction. Classroom instruction is a 
critical component of driver education and must follow these standards to 
ensure effective learning and compliance: 

General Classroom Requirements 

• Must always be supervised by a licensed instructor. 
• Must be scheduled over at least 30 days. 
• Enrollment in the course after the first three classes have been 

completed is not allowed. 
• The use of personal electronic devices, including hands-free, if they 

distract from teaching in the classroom are prohibited. All electronic 
devices must be silenced. 

o Exceptions include emergencies, or if the device is being used as 
part of an approved curriculum or accessing a virtual classroom. 

• Students in a session must be on the same lesson (except make-up 
lessons). 

• Must not allow open enrollment and self-paced instruction (except 
make-up lessons). 

• Must follow your approved course curriculum guide. 

Classroom Student Requirements 

• Students must be at least 15 years old. 
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Classroom instruction hours 

• Must include a minimum of 30 hours total. 
• No single classroom session may be less than one hour or exceed two 

hours. 
o The only exception is when adding a make-up class, in which case 

classroom instruction must not exceed four hours in a single day. 
• Classroom hours cannot overlap between two or more classes. 

Make-up classes 

• Acceptable make-up options include: 
o Attending the same class or topic at a different time. 
o Completing instructor-led alternative activities (e.g., worksheets 

or recorded classes). 
• No more than six make-up hours of alternative instructor-led classroom 

instruction, delivering the same information that was missed. 
• All make-up classes must be completed with a licensed instructor 

present. 
• Make-up classes must be documented in the student record. 

(RCW 46.82.360, WAC 308-108-150, WAC 308-108-155, WAC 308-180-165, 
WAC 308-108-170) 

3.2 Behind-the-wheel duration and structure  

Driver training schools that provide education for persons under the age of 18 
must ensure it includes behind-the-wheel (BTW) instruction. BTW instruction 
is a critical component of driver education and must follow these standards 
to ensure effective learning and compliance: 

General requirements 
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• All BTW instruction must be under the direct supervision and direction 
of a licensed instructor. 

• All BTW instruction must be conducted in an approved instruction 
vehicle. 

• The use of personal electronic devices, whether hands-free or not, if 
they distract from teaching in the vehicle are prohibited. All electronic 
devices must be silenced. 

o Exceptions include emergencies or voice activated GPS devices. 

Student requirements 

• Students must possess a physical copy of a valid instruction permit or 
driver’s license during every BTW instruction. 

• Students must be at least 15 years old. 

BTW instruction hours 

• Students must complete at least six hours of on-street BTW instruction. 
o Four hours of driving simulation may substitute for one hour of 

BTW instruction, with prior approval from the Department of 
Licensing. 

• Students cannot complete more than one hour of BTW instruction per 
day. 

Observation requirements 

• Students must complete at least one hour of in-vehicle observation, 
supervised by a licensed instructor. 

• Permits are not required for observation-only sessions. 

(RCW 46.82. 360, WAC 308-108-150, WAC 308-108-160, WAC 308-108-165, 
WAC 308-108-170) 



   
 

DTS POLICIES AND PROCEDURES | CHAPTER 3 – Page 4 | Revised 2025-04 

 

3.3 Required curriculum standards 

Driver Training Schools educating novice drivers in the instruction of traffic 
safety must follow the Washington Traffic Safety Education Required 
Curriculum Standards. The Washington Traffic Safety Education Required 
Curriculum Standards contain learning outcomes for classroom and behind-
the-wheel instruction. 

The standards provide a foundation for driver education. They identify the 
critical content knowledge and skills that must be taught to increase safety 
for all road users. They are written for -and to- the novice driver. They identify 
objectives that will help novice drivers, instructors, and mentors meet 
licensure expectations. These standards are divided into classroom and 
behind the wheel standards, and broken down by content areas which are as 
follows: 

• Vehicle components 
• Vehicle maintenance and malfunctions 
• Vehicle handling 
• Vehicle safety technology systems 
• Driver behavior 
• Driver attention and perception 
• Driver respect and responsibility 
• Rules of the road  
• Sharing the road 
• Perception and risk management 
• Emergencies and adverse conditions 
• Hazard awareness & navigation 

The standard areas contain specific, targeted learning standards which fulfil 
the requirements outlined in RCW 46.82.420, RCW 46.82.430, WAC 
308.108.150, and WAC 308.108.120. 

https://dol.wa.gov/sites/default/files/2024-12/washington-traffic-safety-education-standards.pdf
https://dol.wa.gov/sites/default/files/2024-12/washington-traffic-safety-education-standards.pdf
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The required standards are not curriculum. Curriculum involves lesson plans, 
textbooks, assignments, classroom activities and assessments; however, any 
curriculum or other materials used for instruction must align to the 
Washington Traffic Safety Education Required Curriculum Standards to 
ensure all students, regardless of what school they attend, are equally 
prepared to meet Washington’s driving expectations and responsibilities. The 
standards (the what of driver education) outline expectations for curriculum 
development (the how of teaching). 

Curriculum Standards Alignment 

It is the driver training school’s responsibility to use curriculum that aligns 
with the standards. By aligning curriculum to the standards, schools will be in 
compliance with the legal requirements of traffic safety education.  

The Department of Licensing must review and approve a school’s curriculum 
(lesson plans, textbooks, slideshows, learning activities, assessments, and 
videos). The approval process helps ensure that schools have the support 
they need to be in compliance with the law. 

The Course Curriculum Guide Submission Form will show DOL that your 
course and curriculum are aligned with the Washington Traffic Safety 
Education Standards.  

The school must also keep records that are available to the Department of 
Licensing (DOL) upon request. These records must include: 

• Approved forms with required attachments. 
• Upon renewal, when adopting new curriculum, or when making any 

updates to existing curriculum, fill and submit an updated Course 
Curriculum Guide Submission Form.  

• The Washington Traffic Safety Education Standards must be on display 
in view of customers. 
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3.4 Course reporting 

Waivers 

Waivers can be provided to any student regardless of age enrolled in a driver 
education course that follows the required curriculum, consists of 30 hours of 
classroom instruction, 6 hours of behind the wheel instruction (BTW) and 1 
hour of observation. Students enrolled in any course or service other than an 
approved course are not eligible for a waiver.  

Students are not permitted to obtain their instruction permits no earlier than 
10 days prior to the start date of the course as defined in WAC 308-104-046.  

Waiver information that must be reported within the License eXpress for 
Business portal and include:  

• School  
• Course start date 
• Student permit number 

Course completions 

Schools must report course information for students who have completed an 
approved course.  

Course information that must be reported within the License eXpress for 
Business portal includes: 

• School 
• Instructor 
• Course start and end date 
• Student permit number 
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• Select Yes or No from the Did the student complete the course 
dropdown menu 

• Reason for incomplete, if applicable 
• Delivery method (in-person classroom/virtual classroom/hybrid 

classroom)  

*For step-by-step instructions refer to the Driver’s Training School portion of 
the Online Services for Driver Businesses E-Services Account User Guide

https://dol.wa.gov/sites/default/files/2023-06/license-express-driver-businesses-e-services-account-user-guide.pdf
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Chapter 4: Administrative requirements 
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4.1 ADDING A BRANCH LOCATION 

All branch locations must meet the requirements of RCW 46.82.360 and WAC 
308.108.100.   

To add a driver training school branch license, you must: 

• Update your license with Department of Revenue 
• Apply for a branch location online through PBLS, and provide: 

o Lease or usage agreement 
o Updated proof of insurance listing the added branch location  
o Pay a non-refundable $250 licensing fee 
o Name of business 
o Location(s) where services are provided, in standard USPS format 
o Contact information, including: 

o Phone number 
o Email address 
o Website (if applicable) 

o Language(s) training course services are offered in 
o Course offerings, including: 

o Driver training education course 
o Adult course 
o Course cost(s) 

o License or endorsement test offerings 

Additional branch location requirements 

• Branch offices or classrooms must be located within a 35-mile radius of 
the main licensed location. 

o The DOL may allow exceptions for schools in counties with low 
population density. 
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• Driver training schools may lease classroom space in public or private 
schools regulated by the Office of the Superintendent of Public 
Instruction (OSPI); however, a school must still use the main licensed 
location regularly.  

License issuance process  

Once DOL receives a complete and acceptable application, an auditor will 
schedule an inspection of the school facility. An inspection cannot occur until 
the facility is ready for use.  

After the business facility and records are inspected and determined to meet 
the required standards, the school will be issued a one-year license.  

The school’s license must be clearly displayed before the school can:  

• Schedule, enroll, or accept students for any courses.   
• Provide students with verification of enrollment.  
• Start any classroom or behind-the-wheel instruction.  

* Enrollment means collecting of a fee or the signing of a contract for a driver 
training education course but doesn't include collecting names or contact 
information.  

*An instructor license must be linked with a branch location license to 
become active. 
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4.2 License renewal 

Submit a license renewal through PBLS 

Submitted the license renewal before the school license expires. A school's 
status will become inactive if the license in not renewed on time.  

License renewals must include: 

• Paid fees 
o $250 for the main location 
o $125 for each branch location 

• Valid lease or usage agreement   
• Proof of insurance for location and vehicle(s) 
• Name of business 
• Location(s) where services are provided, in standard USPS format 
• Contact information, including: 

o Phone number 
o Email address 
o Website (if applicable) 

• Language(s) training course services are offered in 
• Course offerings, including: 

o Driver training education course 
o Adult course 
o Course cost(s) 

• License or endorsement test offerings 

*Renewal processing may take up to six weeks 

Consequences of late renewal 

If a license is not renewed within 30 days after expiration, the license will be 
cancelled and all related branch licenses (e.g., branch offices and 
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classrooms) will become inactive. In this case a new initial application and 
full payment of all fees will be required to continue operations. 

4.3 Reporting requirements  

Insurance changes 

Report within 10 days of any changes to insurance coverage, including 
cancellations or expirations.  

• To submit updated insurance through PBLS: 
o Create a “Update Financial Guarantee” AMR 
o Attach the notice of cancellation if applicable and updated proof 

of insurance 

Vehicle updates 

Report within 10 days of a new vehicle being added to service or removal a 
vehicle from service.  

• To add a vehicle through PBLS: 
o Create an “Update Vehicle Information” AMR 
o Include photos of all vehicle requirements listed in Section 2.2 
o Vehicle registration 
o Provide updated proof of insurance    

*Vehicles may not be used for instruction until written approval has been 
received. 

• To remove a vehicle, email TSE@dol.wa.gov and provide: 
o Make, model, year, and VIN number of vehicle 
o Reason for removal 

mailto:TSE@dol.wa.gov
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Course Changes 

Report any changes to forms or curriculum materials to TSE@dol.wa.gov. 
These records may include: 

• Course Curriculum Guide Submission form  
• Final assessment and answer sheet 
• Student records 
• DTS policies 

*You must receive written approval prior to use of new or updated forms or 
curriculum materials. 

Instructor incidents  

Report within 10 days to TSE@dol.wa.gov any driving or traffic-related 
incidents involving a school instructor, including: 

• Convictions for traffic violations.  
• Traffic infractions or citations. 
• Deferred prosecution agreements. 
• Suspension, revocation, cancellation, or denial of driving privileges. 

Traffic incidents 

Report within 24 hours to TSE@dol.wa.gov of any traffic collision involving a 
training vehicle that requires an accident report under RCW 46.52.030, 
including: 

• Date of collision 
• Names of all individuals involved 
• Any injuries 
• Vehicle descriptions involved (plate/VIN) 

mailto:TSE@dol.wa.gov
mailto:TSE@dol.wa.gov
mailto:TSE@dol.wa.gov
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• Police report (if applicable) 
• Description of collision (if no police report) 
• Photos of collision (if available) 
• Vehicle status 

o For a vehicle being reported in service, include all required 
vehicle photos for approval and a vehicle inspection report 

o For a vehicle being reported as removed temporarily, after 
repair provide all required vehicle photos for approval, vehicle 
inspection report, and bill of repair 

o For vehicle being reported as permanently removed or totaled 
provide updated proof of insurance  

Instructor license requirements  

Report within 10 days of any change of employment. 

School administrators can use the Online Services for Driver Businesses E-
Services Account User Guide and use the Manager User Access section to 
add or remove employees. 

Instructor licenses must be linked with a school to be active, they can be 
linked to a main location, branch location, or both. 

(WAC 308.108.140 and RCW 46.82.310)   

4.4 Business changes 

Location change 

If a school location is changing the update must be submitted within 10 
business days. 

https://dol.wa.gov/sites/default/files/2023-06/license-express-driver-businesses-e-services-account-user-guide.pdf
https://dol.wa.gov/sites/default/files/2023-06/license-express-driver-businesses-e-services-account-user-guide.pdf
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To apply for a location change submit a “Update Physical Address” AMR 
within PBLS that includes: 

• Copy of the lease or usage agreement 
• Updated proof of insurance 

Location changes do not require a fee unless the change is part of a regular 
renewal or ownership change (see WAC 308-108-025 for fee details). 

A new inspection will be completed to ensure the new location meets all 
requirements. 

Ownership change (UBI Change) 

If a business is changing the UBI due to new ownership the original owner 
must submit a closing report for the previous school license within 10 
business days of the change. The new owner must submit a complete initial 
application plus a purchase agreement, including an initial licensing fee, 
within 10 business days of the change. 

Upon the sale or transfer of a school, the student records are transferred to 
the new owner and become the property and responsibility of the new owner. 

The original school license can continue operating for up to 60 days after the 
change, while the new license application is under review. 

An initial inspection will be conducted to verify that the school meets all 
certification requirements. 

Business structure change (UBI Change) 

If the business is getting a new UBI because of an update in the business 
structure, the owner must submit a complete initial application, including an 
initial licensing fee, within 10 business days of the change.  
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The original school license can continue operating for up to 60 days after the 
change, while the new license application is under review.  

Ownership transfer (No UBI Change) 

If a school’s ownership is being transferred, the original owner must notify the 
DOL in writing within 10 days.  

Submit an “Update Owners" AMR within PBLS that includes: 

A change to the businesses’ officers, directors, or interest holders may be 
updated by submitting a new DTS Supplemental Declaration for Online 
Application form, providing a purchase agreement, and reporting the update 
with the Department of Revenue if applicable. 

Upon the sale or transfer of a school, the school and student records are 
transferred to the new owner and become the property and responsibility of 
the new owner. 

Ownership transfer may not be approved if there is pending administrative 
action against the current owner under RCW 46.82.310(6)(d). 

The transferred license remains subject to suspension, revocation, or denial 
as outlined in RCW 46.82.350 and RCW 46.82.360. 

Location closing 

If a school license is closing, the owner must send TSE@dol.wa.gov a Driver 
Training School Closing Report within 30 days. 

If a license is closing without new ownership of records, a closing inspection 
will be conducted to: 

• Collect licenses 

https://dol.wa.gov/forms/view/661043/download?inline
https://dol.wa.gov/forms/view/661043/download?inline
https://dol.wa.gov/forms/view/661017/download?inline
https://dol.wa.gov/forms/view/661017/download?inline
mailto:TSE@dol.wa.gov
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• Confirm the storage location of records after business closure 
• Collect any unsubmitted student course records
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Chapter 5: Inspection requirements  

5.1 Compliance Inspections 

5.2 School Disqualifications 

5.3 Public Disclosure
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5.1 Compliance inspections 

Driver training schools must undergo regular inspections to ensure 
compliance with state laws and regulations. These inspections are 
conducted by the Department of Licensing and cover various aspects of the 
school’s operations. Inspections may be announced or unannounced per the 
discretion of the Department. 

During inspections auditors will review the school’s overall compliance with 
program policies and procedures, including administrative, curriculum, 
instructor, and school requirements. 

Inspections can be requested by DOL at any time during regular business 
hours and records must be available within 2 days of the request. 

Timing of inspections 

• Prior to initial licensure. 
• After initial licensure, there will be a 90-day follow-up inspection. 
• Regular inspections occur at least once a year. 
• Changes in location, ownership, or vehicles may trigger additional 

inspections. 
• Additional inspections such as follow-ups, or observations of 

classroom or driving instruction may occur at any time. 

Inspection components 

• License Display. A valid copy of the school and all instructors’ licenses 
must be clearly displayed at every location. 

• Curriculum. A copy of the Washington Traffic Safety Education 
Standards must be clearly displayed at every location. 

• Records Inspection. All records must be kept at the school’s main 
licensed location for 3 years, be available for inspection, and comply 
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with state requirements. Records may be held electronically as long as 
they can be provided or produced upon request and readable for 
inspection. Records include: 

o Instructor records.
 Records of any traffic violations or collisions involving 

instructors. 
o Collision or injury reports.
o Business Records. Check franchise agreements, corporate 

documents, bank records, partnership agreements, and 
purchase and sale agreements.

o Lease or Usage Agreements. Ensure the school has a valid and 
current lease or usage agreement and identify any changes to 
leaseholders. 

o Vehicle Records. Vehicle-related records must be kept for 5 years 
and may include: 
 Registration(s) 
 Original insurance policy 
 Title(s) 
 Annual vehicle inspection report 
 Maintenance records 

o Course Records. All course records include: 
 Student records 
 DTS policies 

o Curriculum.  Schools’ written curriculum guide must be available 
for inspection. 

• Classroom Facilities. Check seating, equipment, and general 
compliance with state requirements. 

• Vehicles. All instructional vehicles must be made available for auditor 
inspection. If vehicles are not at the main office, the school must 
arrange for them to be available at a branch location for inspection. 
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• Reports. Check waivers and course completions submitted in Licensing 
eXpress for Business. 

• Advertising. Check to ensure advertising includes the full legal name of 
the school, identifying itself as a driver training school and does not 
indicate that the issuance of a driver's license is guaranteed or assured 
as a result of the course of instruction offered. 

• Public Notice of Disciplinary Action. Display of disciplinary actions 
issued to the school or instructors per WAC 308-108-180(2). 

*Any documents collected during the audit are for review purposes only and 
will not replace required submissions. 

5.2 School disqualifications 

All licensed Driver’s Training Schools must adhere to all applicable laws, 
rules, and policies. Failure to do so could result in disciplinary action 
including fines, suspension, or revocation of the license. 

Schools and instructors will receive notice when the Department takes 
disciplinary action and will be provided opportunity for a settlement or 
hearing. 

(RCW 18.235, RCW 46.82, WAC 308-108) 

5.3 Public disclosure 

The Department of Licensing (DOL) often receives requests for information 
about driver training schools, owners, or instructors. 

Any and all records that you provide to the Department are subject to public 
disclosure, including but not limited to: 

• Applications 
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o Insurance 
o Vehicle information 
o Lease 
o Ownership records 

• Audit or investigation records 
• Correspondence 

A person’s right to privacy is violated only if releasing the information would 
be highly offensive to a reasonable person and is not of legitimate public 
concern (RCW 42.17.255). 
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