
Did you know…
Who is responsible for submitting the 
Seller’s Report of Sale?
If you sell or trade your vehicle, the seller (not 
the dealer or new buyer) is responsible for 
completing and submitting a Seller’s Report to 
the Department of Licensing, within 5 days of 
selling the vehicle. You are responsible for that 
vehicle until the Seller’s Report is completed. 
You may file a report of sale online at www.dol.
wa.gov or file in person at a vehicle licensing 
office.

How and where do I submit a 
Seller’s Report of Sale?
All Washington titles have a Seller’s Report 
attached. Or, you can obtain one from any 
licensing office where you transfer titles, renew 
license plate tabs, etc. You can also submit a 
completed Seller’s Report at a licensing office, 
or on the Internet at 
www.dol.wa.gov. Keep a copy for yourself.

Does the Lemon Law apply to 
used vehicles? 
The Lemon Law applies primarily to new 
vehicles. It may apply to a used vehicle 
depending on the circumstances. Call the 
Attorney General’s Consumerline at 
1-800-541-8898 for information and a brochure.

Is there a limit on interest rates?
There is no limit, cap, or ceiling on what a 
dealer can charge for interest rates when a 
dealer is carrying the loan. You may save money 
by arranging for your own financing before you 
start shopping for a vehicle.

Who do I call about repossessions?
Contact the Attorney General’s Consumerline at 
1-800-551-4636 for information and a brochure.

Can I find out about the previous owner?
The dealer is not required to provide the 

previous owner’s name and address to a buyer. 
The Department of Licensing is prevented, by 
public disclosure laws, from disclosing previous 
owner information.

Can I get out of a contract?
Once you sign a contract you are bound 
by that contract. Read and understand each 
document before you sign! Helpful hints:
• You should always get a copy of each 

document you sign for your records
• Get all verbal promises and representations in 

writing
• Do not sign the contract unless you have 

read, and understand, all of its terms and 
agreements

• Never, never, sign a contract with spaces 
left blank. Mark them out or fill them in 
appropriately

• By law, before you sign the contract, the dealer 
must separately disclose in writing the finance 
charge, insurance costs, taxes and other 
charges you are to pay under the contract. If 
they’re different from those you negotiated, 
insist they be corrected.

Can I change my mind after three days?
No. Washington law does not provide for a 
three-day cooling-off period when you purchase 
a vehicle, at a licensed location. Once you sign 
the contract, the car is yours.

What is a curbstoner?
An unlicensed dealer or car “flipper.” These are 
individuals who regularly buy cars to fix them up 
to appear decent. They then sell them (usually tax 
free) for a quick profit.

These individuals do not have a dealer license, 
bond, insurance, place of business or the 
responsibility to the customers that is required 
of a legal dealer.  You have little to no protection 
when buying a vehicle from a curbstoner. 

If you don’t have a dealer license, it is illegal to:
• Sell more than 4 vehicles registered to you in 

any 12 months. 

• Buy and sell vehicles for the purpose of making 
a profit. 

• Sell any number of vehicles that aren’t 
registered to you. 

If you respond to a classified ad and the seller has 
several cars for sale not registered in his/her name 
you may be buying from a curbstoner.  Purchasing 
vehicles from these individuals significantly 
increases your risks of not being able to get the 
vehicle title transferred. You could be purchasing a 
car which has been wrecked, insurance destroyed 
and rebuilt, that has a “rolled back” odometer, is 
a lemon, or even has flood or other undisclosed 
damage. No matter who you buy from, insist 
on a thorough test drive and an independent 
mechanical inspection before you sign and buy.

Does a dealer have to perform a safety check 
before he can sell a vehicle?
No. However it is a violation of dealer licensing 
regulations for a dealer to sell a car which does 
not have the following:
• Working headlights, taillights, brakelights
• Turn signals
• Brakes
• Windshields with no cracks obstructing the 

driver’s clear view of the road
• Working windshield wipers
• Tires with a minimum tread depth of 2/32 of an 

inch, with no bulges, bumps, exposed cord or 
ply

What should I do before I buy?
At a minimum, take the vehicle to a mechanic 
and have the engine, other mechanical parts, 
emission control system, and safety equipment 
inspected and tested. If a dealer or private party 
is reluctant or refuses to allow an inspection, walk 
away. Vehicles roll off the assembly line every day. 
Don’t be duped into thinking that one particular 
vehicle is the only one of its kind. There are 
millions more out there to choose from!

Is a VIN Inspection a safety check?
No. In fact VIN inspections are no longer required, 
except in cases where a vehicle has been rebuilt.

Does a vehicle have to be tested, and pass, 
a vehicle emissions test before a dealer can 
sell a vehicle to the public?
No. However, purchase orders in emissions 
areas must have a disclosure statement 
on used vehicles (no longer under the 
manufacturer’s warranty) indicating that an 
owner of a vehicle may be required to spend 
up to $150 for repairs if the vehicle does not 
meet the vehicle emissions standards. Emission 
testing is not required statewide. For additional 
information, contact the Department of Ecology, 
at the phone number listed on the back of this 
brochure, or visit their website.

What about private party sales?
If you live in an inspection program area and 
you purchase a used vehicle from a private 
party it must have a valid emission inspection 
certificate to be registered under your name.

Implied warranty of 
merchantability 
on used cars
Every vehicle sold in Washington by a dealer 
has an “implied” warranty that the vehicle 
will be fit for ordinary driving purposes. 
That means the vehicle must be free of major 
defects, reasonably safe, and of the average 
quality of similar vehicles available for sale in 
that price range. The duration and extent of 
coverage is conditioned on the age, mileage 
and price of the vehicle as well as the nature 
and timing of the problem. For more information, 
contact the Attorney General’s Consumerline at 
1-800-551-4636 for information and a brochure.



“As-Is” is just that
Most used vehicles are offered by dealers “as-
is.” If you waive the implied warranty and the 
vehicle breaks down, you will be responsible 
for all repairs. As an informed buyer, you 
should consider whether negotiating away your 
implied warranty rights is really in your best 
interest.

Vehicle Titles
If I buy a car from a dealer, who does the title 
transfer?
The dealer is responsible for transferring 
the vehicle into the new owner’s name and 
providing plates, tabs, and registration.

How long does a dealer have to 
transfer title?
A dealer should transfer a vehicle’s title within 
45 days from the date of delivery.

What do I do if my dealer temporary permit 
expires or is about to expire?
First, contact the dealer. The dealer may have 
your plates or tabs at the place of business. If 
the dealer does not have your plates or tabs, 
and your temporary permit has expired, you can 
call one of the Dealer Services regional offices 
listed on this brochure.

Does a VIN inspection need to be done 
before the title is transferred?
No. A VIN inspection is required for rebuilt 
vehicles.

Does the dealer have to disclose if the 
vehicle been insurance destroyed, rebuilt, or 
salvaged?
Yes. Under Washington State Law the dealer 
must disclose, in writing, on the purchase 
agreement, the following:
• That the vehicle’s certificate of ownership 

(title) has been branded. Examples may be 
(but not limited to) salvage/rebuilt, destroyed, 
or junk.

• That the vehicle has been declared totaled out 
by an insurance company and then rebuilt.

• That the vehicle’s title contains the specific 
comment that the vehicle is rebuilt.

How do I transfer a title between private 
parties?
Before finalizing the deal and paying for the car, 
be sure to get all of the necessary papers to title 
your car. You will need the following:
• Odometer Disclosure Statement form filled out 

and signed by the owner and the buyer. If the 
car is 10 years old or older you do not need 
the Odometer Disclosure Statement.

• All owners listed on the title must release 
ownership in the vehicle. The owner(s) do so 
by signing the appropriate space(s) on the 
title. If the title is lost, an Affidavit of Loss/
Release of Interest or Affidavit in Lieu of Title 
form must be completed and signed by all 
of the owners shown on the title record. The 
forms must be signed in the presence of a 
notary public and notarized by the notary, or 
signed in the presence of a vehicle licensing 
agent, at a vehicle licensing agent’s office, and 
certified by the agent. The Affidavit of Loss/
Release of Interest form may be obtained from 
the Department of Licensing website at www.
dol.wa.gov, under vehicle & vessel forms. The 
Affidavit in Lieu of Title may be obtained from 
any Department of Licensing office.

There is a penalty if the new owner does not 
change the title into their name within 15 
calendar days from the date of purchase. The 
penalty is $50 on the 16th day plus $2 for each 
day thereafter up to a maximum fine of $125. After 
45 days, failure to transfer title is a misdemeanor.

For more information
For brochures on the Lemon Law, buying and 
leasing vehicles, repossessions, and mechanic’s 
liens:
Attorney General’s Office Consumerline
1-800-551-4636
www.atg.wa.gov/contactus.aspx

Attorney General’s Office Lemon Law
1-800-541-8898
www.atg.wa.gov/lemon-law-0

Information on emission testing:
Department of Ecology
Pierce & Clark County: 1-800-272-3780
King  & Snohomish County: 1-800-272-3780
Spokane County: (509) 329-3491

Prices of used cars:
See the N.A.D.A. Official Used Car Guide or the 
Kelly Blue Book. Your local bank or credit union 
may have a copy. Many libraries also provide 
these publications in their reference sections.

General licensing information:
Visit the Department of Licensing’s website at
dol.wa.gov

Dealer Services Office:
Olympia
(360) 664-6475

Dealer Services does not  regulate private 
party sales.

We are committed to providing equal access to our services.
For information visit dol.wa.gov/access. (TDD/TTY call 711).
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