AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 07-13-082, filed 6/19/07, effective
7/20/07)

WAC 308-56A-210 Ownership in doubt—Bonded title or three-year
registration without title. (1) What is ownership in doubt? Ownership
in doubt is when a vehicle owner(s) 1is unable to obtain satisfactory
evidence of ownership or releases of interest as described in WAC
308-56A-265.

(2) What options are available in an ownership in doubt situa-
tion? When in an ownership in doubt situation, the owner may:

(a) Apply for three-year registration without title; or

(b) Apply for a bonded title described in RCW 46.12.151; or

(c) Petition any district or superior court of any county of this
state to receive a judgment awarding ownership of the vehicle. This is
required if ownership of the vehicle is contested after the applicant
makes application for ownership in doubt and before the three-year
ownership in doubt period has lapsed.

(3) What documents are required when applying for a bonded title
or three-year registration without title? Required documents when ap-
plying for a bonded title or three-year registration include:

(a) The originals or copies of letters sent by registered or cer-
tified mail to the registered and legal owners of record, including
the return receipt. The letters must include information regarding the
applicant's claim to ownership and a request for the released certifi-
cate of ownership (title) or a notarized or certified release of in-
terest.
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(ii) If the owners of record do not respond before sub-
mitting their application, the applicant must wait ((f+fteern)) 15 days
from acknowledged receipt of the letter.

((F)) (d4ii) TIf the letter is returned unclaimed, the applicant
must submit the letter, unopened, with the application.

(b) A bonded title or a three-year registration without title af-
fidavit completed by the applicant and signed by all persons to be
shown as a registered owner.

(c) Washington state patrol inspection, unless the vehicle 1is
specifically exempt under subsection (4) of this section. For vehicles
exempt from the Washington state patrol inspection under subsection
(4) of this section, the following documents are also required:

(i) A bonded title or three-year registration without title affi-
davit for vehicles exempt from the Washington state patrol inspection
completed and signed by a person to be shown as a registered owner;
and

(ii) A legible etching or photograph of the VIN as proof of the
VIN.

(d) Application for certificate of ownership (title).

(e) A bond as described in RCW 46.12.151, if the applicant is ap-
plying for a bonded title.

(f) Other documents that may be required by law or rule.

(4) Are there exemptions from the Washington state patrol inspec-
tion? Yes.
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(a) Certain vehicles are exempt from the Washington state patrol
inspection if:

(1) There is a Washington record; or

(ii) There is no Washington record, but the vehicle owner has a
title or registration certificate issued by Washington or another ju-
risdiction.

(b) Vehicles exempt from the Washington state patrol inspection
include:

(1) Mopeds;

(ii) Trailers with a scale weight less than ((twe—theusand))
2,000 pounds;

(iii) Not eligible for road use (NEFRU) vehicles as defined in
WAC 308-56A-500 when the model year is ((fer)) 10 years old or older;

(iv) Travel trailers and park model trailers when the model year
is ((¥en)) 10 years old and older;

(v) Campers when the model year is ((fer)) 10 years old and old-
er;

(vi) Manufactured and mobile homes are exempt at all times.

(5) When is a bond required? A bond is required in ownership in
doubt situations when:

(a) The applicant is a Washington state licensed vehicle dealer;
or

(b) The Washington record shows there is an existing lien.

(6) How is a vehicle value determined for filing a bond? Vehicle
value may be determined from one of the following sources:

(a) The department's automated valuing system; or

(b) A published appraisal guide; or

(c) Appraisal from a licensed vehicle dealer or appraisal compa-
ny. The appraisal must be on company letterhead and have the business
card attached; or

(d) Insured amount; or

(e) Consideration or payment plus estimated repairs by a bona
fide mechanic; or

(f) Other wvaluing sources approved by the department.

(7) May I transfer ownership on a vehicle with a bonded title or
three-year registration without title? Yes.

(a) Owners releasing interest in a vehicle with a bonded title or
three-year registration without title must provide a release of inter-
est described in WAC 308-56A-265;

(b) The new owners must submit an application for title as de-
scribed in this chapter and complete the time remaining on the current
ownership in doubt period.
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