AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 07-22-090, filed 11/6/07, effective
12/7/07)

WAC 308-56A-140 Department temporary ((permit)) license plate.
(1) What is a department temporary ((permit)) license plate? A depart-
ment temporary ((

" ")) license plate is a system—-generated 1i-
cense plate printed on durable paper material which may be issued in
lieu of a registration certificate and license plates when:

(a) The vehicle is not currently licensed in Washington; and
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(b) Appropriate vehicle documentation to title and license the
vehicle is not immediately available but is 1likely to be available
within ((sixty)) 60 days; and

(c) The vehicle was purchased from someone other than a licensed
Washington dealer or is scheduled for inspection by the Washington
state patrol; and

(d) For the purposes of this section, a vehicle may be considered
unlicensed if the current license expires within 60 days of applica-
tion for the department temporary license plate, or the vehicle's 1i-
cense plates are missing or unreadable.

(2) How long is a department temporary ((permit)) license plate
valid? The department temporary ((permi€t)) license plate is wvalid for
no longer than ((sixty)) 60 days from the date of application.

(3) Where do I apply for and obtain a department temporary ((pexr-
mit)) license plate? You may apply for a department temporary ((per—
mit)) license plate at any Washington vehicle licensing office.

(4) What fees are due when applying for a department temporary
((permit)) license plate? All applicable taxes, title, license fees
and inspection fees are due when the department temporary ( (permit))
license plate is issued. Any fees for permanent license plates are due
when the department temporary ( (permit)) license plate is cleared.

(5) How do I display the ((eardbeard)) temporary license plate?
You must display the ( (eardboard)) temporary llcense plate ( (where—i+
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femporarvy—prate—dn—the—vehiele—-or—the +towing—vehiele)) the same as de-
scribed for a permanent license plate in RCW 46.16A.200 (5) (a), in the
same location or locations where permanent license plates are dis-
plaved for vehicles. The temporary license plate must be secured so as
to remain stable and readable during movement or in windy conditions.

(6) If my vehicle is eligible for monthly gross weight, how many
months of gross weight must I purchase with a department temporary
((permit)) license plate? If your vehicle is eligible for monthly
gross weight, you must purchase a minimum of two months' gross weight
license to correspond with the duration of the department temporary
((permit)) license plate. You may receive credit as described in WAC
308-96A-220(7) for gross weight license already purchased.

(7) How do I clear the department temporary ((permit)) license
plate and obtain a registration certificate and license plates for my
vehicle? You may obtain a registration certificate and license plates
for your vehicle at any vehicle licensing office by submitting:
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An application for certificate of ownership; and

An odometer disclosure statement, if applicable; and

License plate fees; and

Other applicable documentation, fees, and taxes.

) What fees are due when clearing a department temporary ((pexr-
mit)) license plate? In addition to other fees as prescribed by law,
the title application fee and license plate fees are due when the de-
partment temporary ((permit)) license plate is cleared.

(9) How do I obtain a replacement department temporary ((permit))
license plate? You may obtain a ((phetecepy—of—the)) replacement de-
partment temporary ((permi¥t)) license plate by contacting any vehicle
licensing office (( i i
ment)). You must provide the vehicle identification number or the de-
partment temporary ((permit)) license plate number. The replacement

0000w

department temporary ((permit)) license plate will retain the same ex-
piration date as the original.

+i%+)) May ((a)) another department temporary ((permit)) license
plate be ((extended)) issued after the expiration of the first? Yes,

((&)) when necessary, another department temporary ((permit)) license
plate may be ((esxtended)) issued on a case-by-case basis upon depart-
mental approval.

An extension of a department temporary ((permit)) license plate
cannot be granted for vehicles described in subsection (6) of this
section when no more than two months' gross weight was purchased. Ad-
ditional gross weight cannot be issued until the department temporary
((permit)) license plate is cleared.

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 11-18-047, filed 8/31/11, effective
10/1/11)

WAC 308-56A-420 Delivery of vehicle on dealer temporary ((per-
mit)) license plate. ((++))) How does a Washington licensed vehicle
dealer deliver a vehicle using a dealer temporary ((permit)) license
plate?

((#=r)) (1) Washington licensed vehicle dealers may deliver a ve-
hicle that 1is not currently registered, or that does not have wvalid
Washington license plates, tabs, decals, or gross weight, or the cur-
rent tabs will expire within ((ferty—five)) 45 days of the date of de-
livery, by using (( ;

i+)) a dealer temporary license plate.

((Hr)) (2) The application for title part of the dealer tempora-
ry ((permit)) license plate form must be properly and completely fil-
led out by the selling or leasing dealer, including the dealer's re-
port of sale and the date on which the vehicle is physically delivered
to the purchaser or lessee. If license based on gross weight is re-
quired, the amount of gross weight purchased must be clearly shown.
The application must be signed by the registered owner(s) or lessee.

((#e¥)) (3) The Washington licensed vehicle dealer must collect
all fees required for titling and registration of a vehicle.

[ 2 ] 0Ts-4621.1



( (Heh—Feor—e—permitsy—thepermit—printed by thee-permitting—sSys—
fem—muast—disptay —the—expiration date —and—e—permit—rumbers) ) 4) All

temporary license plates must be printed through the e-permitting sys-

tem. The date of expiration is ((ferty—fiwe)) 45 calendar days from
the date the vehicle is physically delivered to the purchaser or les-

;
-
EEEAENE S| Bl 37
[ S Sy @) R U pu - _Y
physteally delivered—+o—the purehaserorJtess
+£)) (5) A dealer may preprint and hold up _to 10 temporary 1i-

cense plates purchased through the e-permitting system for off-line
use, with the expiration date to be manually recorded in dark, bold
letters and numbers upon use. The date of expiration for preprinted
temporary license plates is 45 calendar days from the date the vehicle
is physically delivered to the purchaser or lessee. A dealer may not
have more than 10 preprinted temporary license plates at one time un-
less an exception is approved by the department. The e-permitting sys-
tem will not allow a dealer to preprint additional temporary license
plates, bevond the 10 allowed, until the previously issued temporary
license plates are properly filed in the e-permitting system and all
required information is recorded with the department.

(6) The application copies must be used by the Washington 1i-
censed dealer to apply for title and to complete licensing of the ve-
hicle. Except as provided in RCW 46.70.180(8), when a second temporary
((permit)) license plate is authorized; the selling dealer must submit
the application and all titling and licensing fees to the department
of licensing or an authorized licensing agent within ((ferty—five)) 45
calendar days from the date the vehicle is physically delivered to the
purchaser or lessee. The date that the selling or leasing dealer phys-
ically delivers the wvehicle to the purchaser or lessee will start the
( (Feorty—fiwe)) 45 day interval of an application for a certificate of
title in the purchaser's or lessee's name. Additionally, the director
may excuse late applications only in situations where applications are
delayed, for reasons beyond the control of the dealer.

((ey)) (7)) The ((e—permit—or hard copy {paperifecard steckr—deater

temporary—permit) ), temporary vehicle registration((+)) and a purchase
order identifying the vehicle and the date that the wvehicle was physi-

cally delivered to the purchaser or lessee must be carried in the ve-
hicle or the towing vehicle at all times the wvehicle is operated on
the dealer temporary permit.

({({F¥y)) (8} Tre ((e-permit or harcd copy {papec/casd stocx)h))

dealer temporary ((permit)) license plate must be displayed ((en—the
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h wFehiete)) 1n a manner consistent w1th the requirements in RCW

46.16A.200 (5) (a) for a permanent license plate, in the same location
or locations where permanent license plates are displayved for vehi-
cles. The dealer temporary license plate must be secured so as to re-
main stable and readable during movement or in windy conditions.

((-)) (9) The ((e—permit—or hord ecopy—{paperteard—steeck)))
dealer temporary ((permit)) license plate is wvalid for not more than
( (Ferty—£fiwe)) 45 calendar days starting with the date that the vehi-
cle is physically delivered to the purchaser or lessee.
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({431 (L0) Tre ((e-permit or #ars copy |{papericare soocxh))
dealer temporary ((permit)) license plate will not be issued:

(()) (a) For a dealer inventoried vehicle that has not been
sold or a dealer or dealer-employee operated vehicle;

((=+r)) (b) As a demonstration permit;

((#+3+>)) (c) For a vehicle processed as a courtesy delivery;

((v))) (d) For out-of-state residents unless Washington regis-
tration is intentionally being obtained.

e o T T T D T T B e e e e e e e e
steek))) for dealer temporary ((permit)) license plate application
forms are not refundable unless the dealer ceases doing business as a
vehicle dealer.

((#3r)) (12) Washington licensed dealers must maintain a record
of each dealer temporary ((permit)) license plate acquisition and dis-
tribution including the following:

((+)) (a) Date and location of purchase of each ((permit)) tem-
porary license plate and the ((permit)) plate number;

((=+r)) (b) TIdentification of vehicles delivered on temporary
((permits)) license plates;

((H3++r)) (c) Dates of vehicle sales, leases, and deliveries( (=

+25) ) 2

(d) Customer's complete name.

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 11-18-047, filed 8/31/11, effective
10/1/11)

WAC 308-56A-425 Obtaining dealer temporary ((permits)) license
plates. (1) What is a dealer temporary ((permit)) license plate? For
the purposes of vehicles, a dealer temporary ((permit)) license plate
is a combination title application and temporary registration used by
Washington licensed vehicle dealers when delivering a vehicle that is
not currently registered, or does not have wvalid Washington license
plates, tabs, decals, or gross weight, or the current tabs will expire
within ((ferty—Fiwve)) 45 days of the date of delivery.

(2) How does a Washington licensed vehicle dealer obtain dealer
temporary ((permits)) license plates? Washington licensed wvehicle
dealers may purchase dealer temporary ((permits)) license plates at
any Washington vehicle licensing office for the fee required in RCW
46.17.400.

(3) What will Washington 1licensed vehicle dealers receive when
purchasing dealer temporary ((pefmits)) license plates? Washington 1li-

censed vehicle dealers will receive ((etthers
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copy—was—issued—eff—site)) access to
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printable temporary license plates through the department's e—-permit-

ting system.

(4) Will Washington licensed dealers be able to obtain unassigned
temporary license plates for off-line use? A dealer may preprint and
hold up to 10 unassigned temporary 1license plates purchased through
the e-permitting system for off-line use, with the expiration date to
be manually recorded in dark, bold letters and numbers upon use. A
dealer may not have more than 10 unassigned temporary license plates
at one time, unless an exception is approved by the department. The e-
permitting system will not allow a dealer to preprint additional unas-
signed temporary license plates, bevond the 10 allowed, until the pre-
viously issued unassigned temporary license plates are properly filed
in the e-permitting system and all required information is recorded
with the department.

(5) What are the requirements for using unassigned temporary li-
cense plates? Washington licensed dealers who issue unassigned tempo-
rary license plates must enter the dealer temporary license plate in-
formation into the department's e-permitting system within 24 hours of
issuance or hardware/software resolution, or within 24 hours of re-
turning to the office if the hard copy was issued off-site. Failure to
properly record the required information into the department's e-per-
mitting system may result in a Washington licensed dealer being unable
to preprint additional unassigned temporary license plates until the
previously issued unassigned temporary license plates are accounted
for.

(6) Will Washington licensed vehicle dealers be able to use pre-
viously purchased hard copy (paper/card stock) dealer temporary per-
mits after July 1, 2023? Washington licensed dealers will no longer be
able to purchase hard copy dealer temporary permits after July 1,
2023, but may issue any remaining stocks until July 15, 2023. After
July 15, 2023, Washington licensed dealers must fully transition to
using dealer temporary license plates printed through the department's
e-permitting system. Dealer temporary permits issued by dealers will
no longer be valid for unregistered vehicle use on public highways af-
ter September 1, 2023.
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