
AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 10-06-078, filed 3/1/10, effective 
7/1/10)

WAC 308-124A-785  Broker first active license renewal.  The mini-
mum requirements for a broker to be issued the first renewal of an ac-
tive license are: The broker has furnished proof of successful comple-
tion of ((ninety)) 90 clock hours ((commenced)) started after the date 
first licensed, from ((a)) prescribed ((curriculum)) curricula ap-
proved by the real estate program, including real estate law, advanced 
practices and ((thirty)) 30 hours in approved continuing education, 
including the core curriculum and Washington real estate fair housing.

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 14-16-054, filed 7/29/14, effective 
8/29/14)

WAC 308-124A-790  Continuing education clock hour requirements. 
A licensee ((shall submit)) must attest to the department ((evidence 
of)) satisfactory completion of clock hours, pursuant to RCW 
18.85.211, in the manner ((and on forms)) prescribed by the depart-
ment.

(1) A licensee applying for renewal of an active license ((shall 
submit evidence of)) must attest to the completion of at least ((thir-
ty)) 30 clock hours of instruction in a course(s) approved by the real 
estate program and ((commenced)) started within ((forty-eight)) 48 
months of a licensee's renewal date. The clock hours of instruction 
attested to are subject to audit by the department.

(a) A minimum of ((fifteen)) 15 clock hours must be completed 
within ((twenty-four)) 24 months of the licensee's current renewal 
date, and a portion of that ((fifteen)) 15 must include three hours of 
the prescribed core curriculum defined in WAC 308-124A-800 and requi-
site hours of the prescribed Washington real estate fair housing cur-
riculum defined in WAC 308-124A-802.

(b) Up to ((fifteen)) 15 clock hours of instruction beyond the 
((thirty)) 30 clock hours submitted for a previous renewal date may be 
carried forward to the following renewal date. Failure to ((report)) 
attest to the successful completion of the prescribed core ((curricu-
lum)) and Washington real estate fair housing curricula clock hours 
((shall)) will result in denial of license renewal.

(c) If Washington real estate fair housing education was not com-
pleted during initial qualification for licensure, renewing licensees 
must take the six-hour Washington real estate fair housing education; 
and every renewal after must include three hours of Washington real 
estate fair housing education.

(2) The ((thirty)) 30 clock hours ((shall)) must be satisfied by 
((evidence of)) completion of approved real estate courses as defined 
in WAC 308-124H-820. ((A)) Portions of the ((thirty)) 30 clock hours 
of continuing education must include three clock hours of prescribed 
core curriculum defined in WAC 308-124A-800 and three clock hours of 
prescribed Washington real estate fair housing curriculum as defined 
in WAC 308-124A-802.

(3) Courses for continuing education clock hour credits ((shall 
be commenced)) must be started after issuance of a first license.
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(4) A licensee ((shall)) must not place a license on inactive 
status to avoid the continuing education requirement or the post-li-
censing requirements. If a licensee ((shall submit evidence of)) is 
inactive less than one year, they must attest to the completion of 
continuing education clock hours to activate ((a)) the license ((if 
activation occurs within one year after the license had been placed on 
inactive status and the last renewal of the license had been as an in-
active license)). A licensee ((shall submit evidence of completing)) 
must attest to the post-licensing requirements if not previously sat-
isfied upon returning to active status. The clock hours of instruction 
or post-licensing requirements attested to are subject to audit by the 
department.

(5) Approved courses may be repeated for continuing education 
credit in subsequent renewal periods.

(6) Clock hour credits for continuing education ((shall)) will 
not be accepted if:

(a) The course is not approved pursuant to chapter 308-124H WAC 
and chapter 18.85 RCW;

(b) Course(s) was taken to activate an inactive license pursuant 
to RCW 18.85.265(3);

(c) Course(s) submitted to satisfy the requirements of RCW 
18.85.101 (1)(c), broker's license, RCW 18.85.211, 18.85.111, managing 
broker's license and WAC 308-124A-780, reinstatement.

(7) Instructors ((shall)) will not receive clock hour credit for 
teaching or course development.

NEW SECTION

WAC 308-124A-802  Defining prescribed Washington real estate fair 
housing curriculum.  Washington real estate fair housing curriculum is 
a specific course of study approved by the director that provides 
practical information relating to the right to choose housing free 
from unlawful discrimination; regardless of age, disability or level 
of ability, family situation, gender (including sexual orientation, 
gender identity, and gender expression), marital status, national ori-
gin (including language), race, religion, or veteran status. The de-
partment will prescribe the curriculum outline to use in developing 
the curriculum for approval.
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