

## Guidelines for Becoming a Licensed Geologist in Washington State Geologist Licensing Board



## Geologists Must be Licensed to Practice in Washington State.

Washington State law (see References) requires that geologists, hydrogeologists, and engineering geologists who perform the "practice of geology for others" in Washington state must be appropriately licensed (unless otherwise legally exempted), regardless of how they are employed or by whom.



## Washington State's Geologist Licensing Board definition of geology practice for others includes:

- Practicing a discipline of geology (including hydrogeology and engineering geology);
- Claiming to be a geologist;
- Professing a title suggesting being a geologist or a licensed geologist;
- → Or alleging the ability to perform geologic services or work for others.



## HOW DO I BECOME LICENSED AS A GEOLOGIST IN WASHINGTON STATE?

- You meet the education requirements through a degree or equivalent course work.
- You document at least 5 years of verifiable, professional geological experience with at least 3 years supervised by a licensed geologist.
  - If your supervisor is not a licensed geologist, the person verifying your experience must provide their education as it relates to geology and their professional resume to the Board for evaluation and approval as verifier.
  - Each year of full-time graduate study in geology or qualified related areas may

- count as one year of experience maximum of 2 years.
- → Your geologic research or teaching at a university or college is credited year-foryear if judged comparable to experience by the Board.



Ask your university how it can help you achieve your educational goals

- You pass the National Association of State Boards of Geology (ASBOG®) Fundamentals of Geology and Practice of Geology examinations, or other Board-approved equivalent examinations.

Engineering geology and hydrogeology specialty licenses require additional education, experience, and examination.



If you intend to practice as a geologist in other states that require geologist licensing, be prepared to meet that state's educational requirements, which may be different from those of Washington State.





