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Driving Safely Among Bicyclists - ANSWERS 

 
1. True or False: 
Bicyclists have no legal right to ride on a roadway, occupy a lane, or pull out of a bicycle 
lane to make a turn or avoid an obstruction. 
 
Answer: False.  Bicycles are considered “vehicles” under Washington law.   In 
Washington and most states, bicycles have a legal right to ride in the roadway even if a 
bicycle lane is present. The only exception is where a road is specially restricted for 
bicycles.  Bicyclists are required to stay on the right side of the road, unless turning, 
avoiding an object, or safety requires they ride in the center or left part of the lane.  The 
fact that bicyclists may travel slower than the posted speed limit does not limit their right 
to use the roadway.  Drivers and bicyclists share the road equally. Both should take 
turns according to standard right-of-way rules. These rules apply to all vehicles, bicycles 
included. 
 
2. In turning at a corner or pulling into an driveway, a driver should? 

A.  Yield to oncoming bicyclists rather than rushing to beat the bicyclist. 
B.  Watch for bicyclists who are in the cross-walk or on the adjacent sidewalk. 
C.  Check blindspot and side mirror to make sure a bicyclist is not beside the car. 
D.  All of the above. 

 
Answer: D, all of the above.  Turning cars are one of the greatest causes of bicyclist 
fatalities and injuries.   Be especially careful in making turns where bicycles may be 
riding on the sidewalk adjacent to the road.   Bicycles on the road are often traveling 
faster than a motorist may assume, and attempts to turn in front of oncoming bicyclists 
are especially dangerous.    The law requires the motorist to yield to the cyclist going 
straight if there is any chance of collision.  The few seconds a motorist may save in 
rushing a turn may cost a bicyclist’s life.   In turning right (or left on a one-way street), the 
driver should check the blindspot and the side mirror to make sure the vehicle is not 
turning into the path of a cyclist going straight.   In turning left, the driver should look not 
only for oncoming vehicles but also for bicycles riding on the sidewalk.   
 
3. What minimum distance should a driver maintain between her car and a 
bicyclist when they pass on a road way or in a bike lane? 

A. At least 1 foot from the widest point of both the car and bicycle. 
B. At least 2 feet from the widest point of both the car and bicycle.   
C. At least 3 feet from the widest point of both the car and bicycle. 
D. At least 6 feet from the widest point of both the car and bicycle. 

 
Answer: C,  Three feet from the widest point of both vehicles is the minimum safe 
passing distance at slow speeds.  Even if the bicyclist is riding on the edge of the bicycle 
lane next to the traffic lane the 3 feet rule applies.  Special precaution is required by 
drivers of vehicles such as RVs and trucks that have mirrors or side-door steps that 
protrude a distance from the vehicle.  At less than three feet, the driver and bicyclist 
have less space for safe maneuvering, and a motorist can clip a bicyclist with a mirror. A 
bicyclist needs the extra space to avoid a pothole, broken glass or a storm grate and not 
be endangered by passing cars.  If the driver travels at a fast speed, the distance should 
be greater than three feet because of the reduced reaction time, the added severity of 
collisions, and the wind currents and noise blast a motor vehicle causes at higher 
speeds. When approaching younger bicyclists, drivers should allow even more space 
because children’s movements can be unpredictable. 
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4. When a driver approaches a bicyclist from the rear, the driver should: 

A. Shout or throw an object to get the bicyclist to ride on the sidewalk. 
B. Race the engine or honk to warn the bicyclist.  
C. Wait until traffic clears so that the car can pull out and pass with at least 3 ft 
space. 
D. None of the above. 

 
Answer: C,   Bicyclists have a right to be on the road, so it is not appropriate to tell them 
to get off the road or onto a sidewalk.  Further, shouting, yelling, throwing objects, or 
honking horns is dangerous.   It may startle the cyclist and cause an accident.  These 
acts can amount to an assault or road rage that may be punishable by law and can 
increase your insurance rates.  Maintaining a straight line in passing a bicycle is the 
wrong approach.  Instead, you should remember to always maintain at least 3 feet of 
clearance and pull out from the bicyclist where necessary to maintain a 3 feet gap.   
 
5.  True or False:  
Motor vehicles may not park in bicycle lanes or use bicycle lanes as a turn lane at 
intersections.    
 
Answer: True.  State and local laws prohibit parking in bicycle lanes and use of the 
bicycle lanes as turn lanes.  Motor vehicles may cross bicycle lanes when necessary to 
make turns, but may not otherwise ride or park in them.   
 
6.  Even if a bicycle lane is present, bicyclists are legally permitted to use a lane of 
traffic in which of the following circumstances: 

A. When passing another bicyclist or riding two abreast.  
B. When there are obstructions, glass, or other hazards in the bicycle lane. 
C. When making a left turn or using a left turn lane.   
D. All of the above. 
 

Answer: D.  Washington laws do not require bicycles to ride in bicycle lanes when the 
lane is obstructed or unsafe, the bicyclist needs to turn, or when riding two-abreast.   
Road debris including glass, rocks, sand, branches, and large objects often ends up in 
bicycle lanes and road shoulders.  Motorists need to be alert to bicycles turning out of 
bicycle lanes and shoulders to avoid these hazards.   
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7. True or False.   
When proceeding from a stop sign, a motorist must yield to a bicycle that has the right of 
way under right of way rules.       
 
Answer: True.  Bicycles are vehicles under Washington law and must be yielded to 
according to the rules of the road. 
 
 
8. A driver should be alert to: 
A. A bicyclist riding into the street from a driveway or side street. 
B. Opening a car door into the path of an oncoming bicyclist. 
C. A bicyclist riding against the traffic flow. 
D. All of the above. 
 
Answer: D.  Driving requires being alert at all times, not just at intersections. A major 
cause of car-bicycle collisions occurs when a bicyclist, most often a child, rides into the 
street from a residential or commercial driveway or a side street without looking for 
traffic. A bicyclist riding along a line of parked cars may move away from the cars and 
farther into the lane to avoid being hit by an opening car door. Although safety experts 
say bicyclists should not ride against the traffic, some still do.  Although a cyclist’s 
behavior may be illegal, a driver should be alert to all these situations so a collision can 
be avoided. 
 
 
9. True or False: 
In Washington, bicycles may ride two abreast (side by side) on a roadway.   
 
Answer: True.  By state law (RCW 46.61.770), bicycles are allowed to ride two abreast. 
 
 
10.  True of False:  
Motorists who are turning off a roadway have the right of way over bicyclists proceeding 
straight on the roadway.     
 
Answer: False, Drivers and bicyclists share the road. Both must take turns according to 
standard right-of-way rules. These rules apply to all vehicles, bicycles included. 

 


