Washington Firearms Dealer License 

When do I need to obtain a Washington Firearms Dealer License?
RCW 9.41.010(10) requires anyone engaged in the business of selling firearms at wholesale or retail or who has, or is required to have a federal firearms license under 18 U.S.C. Sec. 923(a) is required to have a Washington firearms dealer license. 

How do I Apply for a Washington Firearms Dealer License?

You can apply for a Washington firearms dealer license at the Police Department if your business is located in the City of (NAME OF CITY).  If your business is located in the unincorporated area of the county, then you must apply at the Sheriff’s Office.

Our address is:
Jurisdiction Name
Address
City, Washington Zip







Phone Number
What are the application hours?
Application hours are (0:00 am to 0:00 p.m.) weekdays, excluding holidays. The application process takes about 60 minutes.

Is there a background check?
Yes.  You will be fingerprinted and a criminal history background check will be conducted prior to issuing your Washington firearms dealer license.

How long does it take before I receive my Washington Firearms Dealer License?
If you are applying for your first Washington firearms dealer license, it may take up to 30 days to complete the background check before the license is issued.

What documents will I need to bring with me when applying for my Washington Firearms Dealer License?
You will need to bring your: 

· Federal Firearms License
· Washington State Business License.  To obtain your State Business License you may contact the Department of Licensing (DOL) Master License Service, or call (360) 664-1400
· Picture identification, (i.e. Washington driver’s license or identification card)

· $125.00 check or money order made payable to Washington State Treasurer

How long is my Washington Firearms Dealer License valid?
Your Washington firearms dealer license is valid for one year from the date of issuance.  You will not receive a renewal notice and it is your responsibility to ensure your license has not expired. 

How do I re-apply for a Washington Firearms Dealer License?
You must apply for a new Washington firearms dealer license each year. You will need to bring your: 

· Federal Firearms License

· State Business License

· Current Washington firearms dealer license  

· Picture identification, (i.e. Washington driver’s license or identification card)

· $125.00 check or money order made payable to Washington State Treasurer

How do I get the state pistol transfer forms I need to sell handguns at my business?

To receive the state pistol transfer forms you will need to contact the Department of Licensing, Firearms Unit at: 

Their address is:
Department of Licensing
Firearms Unit
P.O. Box 9649
Olympia, WA 98507-9649
(360) 664-6616







FAX (360) 586-2726

What if I want to move my firearm store/business?
If you are moving your store/business within the same law enforcement jurisdiction a replacement license with the new address will be issued with no fee.  If you are moving to a new jurisdiction, you will need to contact that law enforcement agency for a new license.

What if I want to open another firearms store?
If you open another firearms store you will need to obtain a Washington firearms dealer license for that specific location.  Again, you will need to bring your: 

· Federal Firearms License

· State Business License  

· Picture identification, (i.e. Washington driver’s license or identification card)

· $125.00 check or money order made payable to Washington State Treasurer

For more information about firearms law:

You may select this link for more information pertaining to state firearms law, or you may call or write the Department of Licensing in Olympia at the phone number or address listed below:

Department of Licensing

Firearms Unit

PO Box 9649

Olympia, WA 98504-9649

(360) 664-6616

FAX (360) 586-2726

For questions regarding federal law pertaining to firearms, or if you would like to obtain a copy of Federal Firearms Regulations, please write or call:  

The Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF) 

915 2nd Ave, Room 790

Seattle, WA 98174

(206) 389-6800

For additional information, please select this link www.atf.gov.

