

STATE OF WASHINGTON DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING PO Box 9020, Olympia, Washington 9850-9020

Washington Administrative Code Notice of Permanent Rules for Chapter 308-56A-140 WAC – Department temporary permit; Chapter 308-56A-420 WAC – Delivery of vehicle on dealer temporary permit; Chapter 308-56A-425 WAC – Obtaining dealer temporary permits.

- Adoption of: Chapter 308-56A-140 WAC Department temporary permit; Chapter 308-56A-420 WAC Delivery of vehicle on dealer temporary permit; Chapter 308-56A-425 WAC Obtaining dealer temporary permits.
- **Effective date:** These rule changes will become effective 31 days after filing or on August 19, 2023.

What are the agency's reasons for adopting this rule?

The Department is updating current rules to align with statutory changes resulting from HB 1790, passed in 2022. These rule changes will provide clarity on the requirements and procedures for issuing temporary license plates.

Summary of all public comments received on this rule proposal and the agency's response to those comments:

Paraphrased Comment	Department Response
Why is there a limit of 10 temporary plates; can this be modeled after the dealer plate requirement which is based on sales?	The limit of ten pre-printed, unassigned temporary licensed plates was established to encourage compliance with the 24-hour reporting requirement found in WAC 308-56A-425. Compliance with this reporting requirement is important for law enforcement and toll collection purposes. The proposed rule allows for exceptions to this limit and the Department is committed to identifying common exceptions and enacting agency policy to address those exceptional circumstances. Additional permits can be accessed through the e-permitting system after the previously issued unassigned temporary license plates have been

The Administrative Procedure Act (RCW 34.05.325(6)) requires agencies to complete a concise explanatory statement before filing adopted rules with the Office of the Code Reviser. This statement must be provided to anyone who gave comment about the proposed rulemaking.

The Department of Licensing appreciates your involvement in this rulemaking process. If you have any questions, please contact Ellis Starrett, Agency Rules Coordinator, at (360) 902-3846 or email rulescoordinator@dol.wa.gov.

	properly filed in the system. Historically, the Department's e-permitting system has remained consistently online and accessible, with very limited periods of downtime.
Why is there no refund being offered for hard card stock?	A refund for previously purchased hard stock temporary permits was not authorized by HB 1790 and funding for this purpose was not provided by the legislature.
If there is no refund offered, can dealers receive e-permit credits?	No. HB 1790 made no provision for the practice of permit exchange and no funding was allocated by the legislature for the technical costs that would be incurred to implement an exchange program.
Do dealers have to use DOL's paper manufacturer Relyco?	No. Dealers may select any paper product from any vendor, so long as the product used complies with the requirements established in RCW 46.16A.305(2).
Are the requirements different for trailers?	Trailers will also receive temporary license plates. In the e-permitting system, a user can select whether to print a small or standard sized temporary license plate. The user will need to select the correct size for the trailer, which may vary based on the specifics of the vehicle.
Can the system be revised to generate two separate PDFs to ease the burden on dealership staff who print the documents?	The Department is committed to making improvements to its systems that will increase usability for end users. This option will be explored as part of that commitment.

Multiple written comments were submitted regarding this rule change and there was oral testimony. Each of the questions or comments received by the department are included in the summary above.

Changes made to the proposed WAC as a result of public comment:

No changes were made to the proposed WACs.

The Administrative Procedure Act (RCW 34.05.325(6)) requires agencies to complete a concise explanatory statement before filing adopted rules with the Office of the Code Reviser. This statement must be provided to anyone who gave comment about the proposed rulemaking.

The Department of Licensing appreciates your involvement in this rulemaking process. If you have any questions, please contact Ellis Starrett, Agency Rules Coordinator, at (360) 902-3846 or email rulescoordinator@dol.wa.gov.