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ALIEN FIREARMS LICENSE PROCESSING INSTRUCTIONS
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A non-immigrant, temporarily residing in Washington State completes the
application and presents it, along with either the $85.25 or $95.25 non-
refundable fee, to their County sheriff’s office. Signature is obtained from the
licensee upon application. Copies of their passport and visa; a valid hunting
license or documentation that the applicant is a member of a sport shooting
club must be provided.

The law enforcement agency takes either one live scan print or two complete
sets of fingerprints, and completes a background check. The license fee total
is $50.00 plus what type of fingerprinting system the county uses, plus the
FBI fingerprint costs of $19.25. For a total of either $85.25-Live Scan or
$95.25-Manual.

The application is approved or denied stemming from the background check
within a 60 day period by county law enforcement.

Processing of the license:

0 Check the appropriate fee box indicating the fees collected.
o0 Input the date of the application was initiated in the space provided.
= This should be the date the person submitted the application not
the same as the issue date.

o0 Input any distinguishing marks information in the space provided.

o Enter previous license number (if any), expiration date, name and date of
birth listed on the previous license. This includes renewal, replacements,
and name changes.

o Complete the country of origin and place of birth section.

0 Remember to have the person read and sign the statement at the bottom of
the license.

o0 Complete the actual perforated license portion of the form.

e The expiration date is 2 years from the date of issue.

e The full name must be entered.

¢ Residential (physical) address. No P.O. Boxes.

e Drivers license or state ID card.

e Race.

e Birthday, sex, weight, height, eye and hair color.

e The ORI number of the issuing agency.

¢ Record the Alien Firearms License number issued in the space
provided.

Copies and fees distribution:
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0 White copy to the licensee; within 7 days of issuance of the license, the
canary copy must be sent to Dept. of Licensing, P.O. Box 9649, Olympia
WA. 98507-9649; the pink copy is retained by the agency for six years.

o0 License fee of $50.00 to be retained by the issuing county agency.

o Distribute the fingerprinting fees to the Washington State Patrol for both
the FBI ($19.25) and WSP fingerprinting costs ($16.00 for live scan and
$26.00 for ink fingerprint cards).

o Department of Licensing does not receive any fees with this license.

6. AFL Denial — occurs when the issuing agency determines that the applicant is
prohibited from possessing firearms during the background check.

Procedure:

e Applicant completes an application for the AFL.

e The county sheriff’s office collects the non-refundable license fee at
the time of application.

e The background check results in the applicant being ineligible to
possess a firearm.

e The applicant is denied by the law enforcement agency and is notified
through official correspondence.

e The LEA writes DENIED across the face of the pink copy.

e The LEA attaches the denial letter to the pink copy of the AFL and
sends it to DOL at P.O. Box 9649, Olympia WA 98507-9649.

e |f the applicant’s firearm rights are restored, an entirely new
application needs to be processed, including new fees.

7. AFL revocation — occurs when an individual who possesses a valid alien
firearms license has become ineligible to possess firearms or is found
mentally incompetent. Example — a conviction that makes the individual
ineligible to possess a firearm.

Procedure:

e The issuing LEA receives notification that an alien firearms license
holder becomes ineligible to possess the AFL under RCW 9.41.040 or
9.41.045.

e Issuing agency notifies the license holder to turn in their AFL.

e The issuing agency notifies the Firearms Unit and licensee of the
“revoked status” through official correspondence.

e The Firearms Unit will place a “revoked status” on the individuals
existing record in the database.

e If the license holder’s firearm rights are ever restored, then a new
(original) alien firearms license is issued with the corresponding
license fee.
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