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Private Security Guard 
Company/Qualifying Principal 

License Application

Apply online: https://professions.dol.wa.gov

Or mail this completed form with a check or money order 
(payable to the Department of Licensing) to:
Private Security Guard Program
Department of Licensing
PO Box 35001
Seattle WA 98124-3401

For questions or language help call: (360) 664-6611

Licenses are available for self-printing with an online account.
If you want us to print and mail your license add a $5 print fee for each copy to your payment.

$0 self-print license online.
$5 each. DOL print and mail license. Quantity Total $

Application type
Company with principal – $364 Armed	endorsement – add	$10
Change of principal – $80 Armed	endorsement – add	$10

Company information
UBI/UBI Business ID/UBI Location ID (16 digits) Company name

Type of business (check one) 

Sole proprietor Partnership Corporation Foreign corporation
Number of partners if partnership

Company address (street address in Washington state)

City State
WA

ZIP code

10-digit phone number Company email

Company mailing address (if different)

City State ZIP code

Location address (Street, city, state, ZIP code)

Location address (Street, city, state, ZIP code)

To show additional branches, attach pages.

https://professions.dol.wa.gov
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*You are not required to have a Social Security Number (SSN) or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN or TIN) to apply for or be issued a 
license. If you do not have an SSN or ITIN, leave that section blank. If you do have a SSN, ITIN or TIN, you are required by federal and state law to 
provide it on the application (42 U.S.C. 666(a)(13) and RCW 74.20A.320).

Principal information
Type or Print Name (Last, First, Middle initial)

Social Security number* Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy) Citizenship

U.S. citizen Resident alien
Address

City State ZIP code

10-digit home phone number Email

Military? (check if applicable)

Current or former: Military member Military spouse or domestic partner
For Service members and their spouses:  When a Service member and their spouse must move due 
to Military orders, Washington state may recognize their current license or certificate if they provide the 
following:
1. A copy of the military orders with this application;
2. A license that is in good standing in all states where the individual held their license before.

a. During application review, DOL may request an original Certification of Licensure or Letter of Good 
Standing from each state.

b. There may be continuing education requirements needed for DOL to recognize the license.
3. Complete the following table if you hold a license issued by any state (excluding Washington).

State License Number Expiration Date

Requirement under which you will be qualifying for license: (check one)

Three years experience as a manager, supervisor, or administrator in the security business or a 
related	field	(see RCW 18.170.060)
Examination (see next page)

Legal background
Answer the following
Answer the questions below. If you answer “Yes,” attach a detailed explanation.

1. Within the last 5 years, in this state or any other jurisdiction, have you had any action 
(fine,	suspension,	revocation,	censure,	surrender,	etc.)	taken	against	any	professional	
or	occupational	license,	certification,	or	permit	held	by	you?  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       Yes No

2. Within the last 5 years, in this state or any other jurisdiction, have you defaulted, or been 
convicted of, or entered a plea of no contest to a gross misdemeanor or felony crime? 
(Don’t	include	traffic	convictions.)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                            Yes No



X
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Fingerprinting
All security guards must have fingerprint-based background checks. For information about the fingerprinting 
and background check process, go to www.dol.wa.gov/business/fingerprinting.html.

By completing this application, you authorize any business associates (past and present) and any 
government agencies (local, state or federal) to release any information, files, or records which may be 
required for a background investigation to the Department of Licensing.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the law of Washington that the foregoing is true and correct.

TYPE or PRINT Name

Date and place signed Applicant signature

Providing false information in this application may be cause for the denial, suspension, or revocation of 
your private security guard license in the state of Washington.

Application requirements
• Appropriate fee
• Applicant must be at least 21 years old
• Prior to licensing, the armed principal applicant must attend an eight-hour Firearms Certification course 

through the Criminal Justice Training Commission. The Department will be notified directly when the 
certificate is issued.

• If principal is applying for a license under the exam requirement, a licensing representative will contact you 
to schedule an exam

• Be prepared to provide a Certificate of Insurance prior to issuance of your license. The company must 
have comprehensive general liability coverage of at least $25,000 for bodily or personal injury and $25,000 
for property damage. This certificate does not have to be submitted with the application packet and may be 
faxed to us when the license is ready to be issued (fax (360) 570-7888).
The certificate holder on the insurance must read:

Department of Licensing
Private Security Guard Licensing Program
PO Box 9649
Olympia, WA 98507-9649

• Provide an address list of any branch offices maintained by the company
• US corporations must submit a:

• copy of the Articles of Incorporation filed with the Washington Secretary of State
• list of all officers and directors with an address for each
• letter from the governing body of the corporation designating the applicant as “principal”

• Partnerships or limited partnerships must also submit:
• a fee for each partner other than the principal
• one completed application for each partner
• Each partner must apply for licensure in order to be eligible to own or operate the company.
• Each must meet the same eligibility requirements as the principal of the company.

• In addition, foreign corporations must submit a certified copy of the Certificate of Authority to conduct 
business in the state of Washington

https://www.dol.wa.gov/business/fingerprinting.html


Frequently asked questions
Q. What is a company principal?
A. The	individual	who,	in	order	to	own	or	operate	a	private	security	guard	company,	must	meet	the	minimum	

qualifications of three years experience or pass the state exam.
Q. How often are the exams given for principals and certified trainers?
A. They	are	scheduled	within	two	to	three	weeks	after	we	receive	your	application.
Q. Where will I take the exam?
A. The	exams	are	scheduled	at	driver	licensing	offices	around	the	state.	When	the	exam	is	completed,	it	

will be returned to this office to be scored. A letter with your score will be mailed to you approximately 10 
days after you’ve taken your exam.

Q. How often can I take the exam?
A. There’s	no	limit	on	the	number	of	times	you	may	take	the	exam	as	long	as	there’s	at	least	seven	working	

days between them.
Q. How do I get rescheduled if I don’t pass?
A. A	reexam	application	will	be	mailed	to	you	with	your	results.	Complete	and	return	the	application	with	the	

$25 fee to be rescheduled.
Q. If I’m just working for myself and do not want to hire employees, do I still have to get a company 

license?
A. Yes,	anyone	who	works	as	a	private	security	guard	must	either	be	licensed	as	a	company	principal	or	as	

a security guard under another company.
Q. How do my employees get licensed?
A. Once	your	company	is	licensed,	you	can	submit	applications	for	your	employees.	They	are	required	to	

complete eight hours of pre-assignment training from a licensed certified trainer. The certified trainer must 
sign the certification box on the front of the Security Guard Application.

Q. How do I become a certified trainer?
A. Once	you	are	licensed,	submit	a	certified	trainer	exam	application	and	$25.
Q. May I have a certified trainer from another company give my employees the training?
A. Yes,	provided	the	trainer	is	currently	employed	and	holds	a	valid	certified	trainer’s	license.
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