
Driver Training School
Instructor License

Application
Apply for a driver instructor license.
Online: https://professions.dol.wa.gov
Or mail this application, any required attachments, and the 
nonrefundable fee in a check or money order (payable to the 
Department of Licensing) to:
Driver Training Schools
Department of Licensing
PO Box 35001
Seattle, WA 98124-3401

Fees (check one)
 Initial – $125 application fee
 Renewal – $100 application fee

Licenses are available for self-printing with an online account.
If you want us to print and mail your license add a $5 print fee for each copy to your payment.

 $0 self-print license online.
 $5 each. DOL print and mail license. Quantity   Total $ 

Applicant Information
Name exactly as it appears on your driver license/ID card (Last, First, Middle initial/name) Instructor license number (if available)

Mailing address

City State ZIP code Email

Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy) (Area code) Home phone number Washington driver license number Expiration date

Military? (check if applicable)
Current or former:  Military member  Military spouse or domestic partner

Legal background
Answer the following
Answer the questions below. If you answer “Yes,” attach a detailed explanation.
1. Within the last 5 years, in this state or any other jurisdiction, have you had any action  
(fine, suspension, revocation, censure, surrender, etc.) taken against any professional  
or occupational license, certification, or permit held by you? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  Yes  No

2. Within the last 5 years, in this state or any other jurisdiction, have you defaulted, or been  
convicted of, or entered a plea of no contest to a gross misdemeanor or felony crime?  
(Don’t include traffic convictions.) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  Yes  No

Certification
Answer the following
1. Have you been a licensed driver for at least 5 years? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  Yes  No
2. Have you had more than one moving traffic violation within the preceding 12 months 
or more than two moving traffic violations within the preceding 24 months?  . . . . . . . . . . . .  Yes  No

3. Have you had any traffic violations or suspensions within the preceding 12 months?  . . . . .  Yes  No
4. Have you had a driver license suspension, cancellation, revocation, or denial within 

the preceding three years?  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  Yes  No
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Certification continued
5. Do you authorize DOL to review your Washington and out-of-state drive records as  
necessary to ensure you meet all qualifications?  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  Yes  No

6. Have you reviewed the FBI Privacy Act Statement and the Noncriminal Justice  
Applicant’s Privacy Rights located at https://www.dol.wa.gov/business/fingerprinting.html  
(see CFR 16,30 through 16.34) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  Yes  No

7. Do you understand federal and state laws may required release of the results of this  
background check and any prior background checks in response to a public disclosure  
request or civil discovery? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  Yes  No

8. Do you understand any incomplete or unreadable information may stop or delay  
processing and that your employment is contingent upon successful clearance of this  
background check? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  Yes  No

I declare under penalty of perjury under the law of Washington that the foregoing is true and correct.

 
 TYPE or PRINT Name

 
Date and place Signature of applicant

Training – to be completed by school owner
For initial licensing: If you have received the required training from a licensed and certified driver instructor 
trainer, have the school owner provide a copy of your training log.
For renewals: Proof of 8 hours of continuing professional development is required.  
Attach additional sheets if necessary.

Date
Number 
of hours Certified trainer name

Certificate 
number Location of training

Continuing 
education

Answer the following
Has this applicant obtained all the required training?  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  Yes  No

I declare under penalty of perjury under the law of Washington that the foregoing is true and correct.

 
 TYPE or PRINT Name

 
Date and place Signature of school owner
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