

Alien Firearms License Application

Use this form to apply for an alien firearms license. To submit your application, you must:

- Take the following items to the sheriff's office in the county where you live:
- Your completed and **unsigned** Alien Firearms License Application
- · Photo ID such as a valid state driver license or state ID card
- · Your passport and visa proving you are legally in the United States
- Valid Washington State hunting license issued by a state or territory of the United States; or an invitation to participate in a trade show or sport shooting event in this state, another state, or another country contiguous with this state
- Pay the non-refundable \$50 fee plus fingerprinting costs in cash or check or money order made payable to your local sheriff's office.
- Allow the county to conduct a background check by signing and submitting your application when you are asked to do so by the sheriff's office staff. The background check will usually be completed within 60 days from the date you apply.
- Get fingerprinted at the sheriff's office.

Notice

State law makes it unlawful for you to possess a firearm or alien firearm license if you have been convicted in any court for domestic violence assault. If you were convicted of non-felony domestic violence assault before July 1, 1993, you may possess a concealed pistol license.

Domestic violence assault conviction			
Conviction date	Is possession of a firearm allowed?	Is possession of an alien firearms license allowed?	
Prior to July 1, 1993 felony conviction	No	No	
Prior to July 1, 1993 non-felony conviction	Yes	Yes	
After July 1, 1993 felony conviction	No	No	
After July 1, 1993 non-felony conviction	No	No	

Domestic violence assault conviction

A person is not considered convicted if he or she has received a pardon or has had his or her firearms rights restored by the appropriate court. This does not include certificates of rehabilitation issued by Washington courts.

Although state and local laws do not differ, federal law and state law on the possession of firearms may differ. You may be prosecuted in federal court if you are prohibited by federal law from possession of a firearm. **A** state license is not a defense to a federal prosecution.

The application fees for an alien firearms license are non-refundable. If you are not sure you are eligible to possess a firearm, we encourage you to contact an attorney before submitting an application for an alien firearms license.

You must sign this application in the presence of the law enforcement agency you are applying with.

I have read and fully understand this notice.

X Signature

Date



Alien Firearms License fee – \$50 FBI fingerprint fee – \$16.50		
Nashington State Patrol live scan fee – \$34.25 Nashington State Patrol fingerprint fee (two cards) – \$71.25		
		001-070-236-0003
Applicant information		
PRINT or TYPE Name (Last, First, Middle)		Date of birth
Other names by which you have been known (for example, maiden name)		I
Residential address		
City	State	ZIP code
Birthplace (City, State or province, and Country)		
10-digit phone number Race		Gender
		☐ Male ☐ Female ☐ Non-binary
Height Weight (<i>in pounds</i>) Eyes (color)		Hair (color)
List type and location of all marks, scars, and tattoos		
Driver license / ID number Alien Registration	/I 04 number	
	1/1-94 Humber	
Passport number Visa number		
Answer the following		
 Have you ever been convicted in adult court or adjudicated or elsewhere, of one of the prohibitive crimes described on 		
2. Are you now on bond or personal recognizance pending tri felony offense?		
3. Are you the subject of an outstanding arrest warrant from a		
4. Have you been convicted of three or more violations of Washin five-year period?	ngton's firea	rms laws within any
5. Have you had a firearm forfeited within the past year for a dr RCW 9.41.098(1)(e)?	rug or alcoh	nol incident pursuant to
6. Are you under a court order or an injunction concerning the		
7. Is your concealed pistol license, if any, in a revoked status'		
8. Have you ever been confined in a mental-health facility for treatment, or been committed as criminally insane?	more than	fourteen days for
vou answered ves to any of the numbered questions above.		

For validation only

If you answered yes to any of the numbered questions above, but believe you are eligible for a license, attach a list of dates and circumstances including copies of applicable pardons, certificates of rehabilitation, or court orders.

Signing this application authorizes the Department of Social and Health Services, as well as mental-health institutions and other health-care facilities, to release information relevant to your eligibility for an alien firearms license to an inquiring court or law-enforcement agency. You must sign this application in the presence of the law enforcement agency you are applying with.

I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of Washington that the foregoing is true and correct.

Applicant signature

Prohibitive crimes

Local laws and ordinances on firearms are preempted by state laws and must be consistent with state law. Although state and local laws do not differ, federal law and state law on the possession of firearms differ. If you are prohibited by federal law from possession of a firearm, you may be prosecuted in federal court. A state license is not a defense to a federal prosecution.

Washington State prohibitive crimes

- · Conviction or adjudication for any felony offense in this state or elsewhere.
- Any of the following crimes when committed by one family or household member against another, committed on or after July 1, 1993:
 - · Assault in the fourth degree
 - Coercion
 - Stalking
 - · Reckless endangerment
 - · Criminal trespass in the first degree
 - Violation of the provisions of a protection order or no-contact order restraining the person or excluding the person from a residence

Federal law prohibits the following persons from receiving a firearm:

- · Anyone who is an unlawful user of, or is addicted to, narcotics or other controlled substances
- Anyone who is of unsound mind, is adjudicated as mentally defective, or who has been committed to a mental institution
- · Anyone who has been dishonorably discharged from the Armed Forces
- Anyone who is an alien and is in the U.S. illegally or unlawfully
- · Anyone who has renounced his or her U.S. citizenship
- Anyone convicted of, or under indictment/information for, a felony crime punishable by imprisonment for a term that is longer than one year, if the law of the state of conviction bars possession of a firearm
- · Anyone who is a fugitive from justice

Local law enforcement use only			
Database	Date	Checked by	
□ Warrant file			
DOL firearms file			
Local check			
□ Approved □ Denie	d By	Date	