

Architect Registration Initial Application

Apply for a Washington State architect registration by:

- direct registration if you have an accredited degree.
- examination if you do not have an accredited degree.
- reciprocity if you are licensed in another state.

Apply online: https://professions.dol.wa.gov

Or mail the application, application fee, and initial licensing fee to:

Washington State Board for Architects Department of Licensing PO Box 35001 Seattle, WA 98124-3401

Mail all other supporting documents to:

Washington State Board for Architects Department of Licensing PO Box 9012 Olympia, WA 98507-9012

Register by direct registration

If you have an accredited bachelor's or master's degree in architecture from a university recognized by the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB).

- 1. Apply by direct registration with NCARB for your:
 - Architect Experience Program (AXP) training.
 - Completion of the Architect Registration Examination (ARE).

For more information, see "Certification and Reciprocity" at the NCARB website.

- 2. After you've completed your licensing requirements through NCARB, send us all of the following:
 - A completed Architect Registration Initial Application.
 - A check or money order, payable to the Department of Licensing, for the \$216.50 fee (\$105 non-refundable application fee plus \$111.50 initial 2-year registration fee includes a \$6.50 Washington State Building Code Council fee).
 - A completed, signed, and dated Architect Law Review Exam. You must score 100% to pass this exam which covers RCW 18.08, RCW 18.235, and WAC 308-12.

Register by examination

If you have a non-accredited bachelor's or master's degree in architecture from a university not recognized by the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB) or are applying with work experience only:

- 1. Send us your completed Architect Registration Initial Application and a check or money order for the non-refundable fee (payable to the Department of Licensing).
- 2. **Have your verifiers** send us completed Employment and Experience Summary forms (AR-636-004) to document your work experience gained before starting AXP.
- 3. Have your college or university send us any official transcripts.
- 4. Once your application is approved, contact NCARB to register for AXP.
- 5. After you've successfully completed AXP:
 - Have NCARB transmit your record to us
 - Request to take the ARE via your My NCARB account

Register by examination (continued)

- 6. When your application is complete, we'll approve you to take the Architect Registration Exams (ARE).
- 7. When you've passed the entire ARE and, if necessary, the oral exam, submit:
 - A check or money order, payable to the Department of Licensing, for the \$111.50 initial 2-year registration fee (includes a \$6.50 Washington State Building Code Council fee).
 - And a completed, signed, and dated Architect Law Review Exam with a passing score of 100%, covering RCW 18.08, RCW 18.235, and WAC 308-12.

Register by reciprocity

How to get your architect's license by reciprocity

To qualify for reciprocity, you must:

- 1. Have a current architect license in good standing in another state, province, or recognized jurisdiction that is a member of the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB). If you did not complete AXP/IDP (5600 hours and 3 years), you must have been licensed in another recognized jurisdiction for at least 9 years.
- 2. Demonstrate that your qualifications and experience are equivalent to those required under RCW 18.08.350.
- 3. Provide documentation that you've met the NCARB seismic exam requirements. If you can't prove completion of seismic exam requirements, you may be required to complete Division LF (Lateral Forces) of the Architect Registration Examination (ARE).
- 4. Submit a completed, signed, and dated Architect Law Review Exam. See page 1.
- 5. Complete an oral interview, if you don't have an accredited degree or AXP/IDP. The Board may waive this requirement for applicants with an NCARB "Blue Cover" certificate.

How to apply if you have an NCARB council record

Have NCARB transmit your council record to our office and submit all of the following:

- Architect Registration Initial Application (Sections 1, 3, and 5).
- A check or money order, payable to the Department of Licensing, for the \$520.50 fee (\$410 non-refundable reciprocity application fee and \$110.50 for the initial 2-year registration fee includes a \$6.50 Washington State Building Code Council fee).
- A completed, signed, and dated Architect Law Review Exam. See page 1.

How to apply if you don't have an NCARB council record

Submit all of the following:

- A completed Architect Registration Initial Application.
- A check or money order, payable to the Department of Licensing, for the \$520.50 fee (\$410 non-refundable reciprocity application fee and \$110.50 for the initial 2-year registration fee includes a \$6.50 Washington State Building Code Council fee).
- A current state certification and certification of written examination from the jurisdiction where you were
 originally registered, including verification that you completed seismic requirements (sent directly from the
 issuing jurisdiction).
- A completed, signed, and dated Architect Law Review Exam. See page 1.

If licensed less than nine years, you must also submit:

- Document your practical work experience (page 4 of this form) See the <u>Prerequisite Requirements for NCARB Examination</u> to determine how much experience you need to report.
- An official college transcript indicating the degree you received, sent directly from the issuing institution.



Architect Registration Initial Application

20810-A	PPLICATIO	NS
	 	

Apply for a Washington architect license.

Online: https://professions.dol.wa.gov

Or, mail this completed form and a check or money order (payable to Department of Licensing) to:

Washington State Board for Architects Department of Licensing PO Box 35001 Seattle, WA 98124-3401

For questions or language help call: 360.664.1388

Licenses are available for self-printing with an online account. If you want us to print and mail your license add a \$5 print fee for each copy to your payment. \$\Begin{align*} \\$0 \text{ self-print license online.} \\ \$\Begin{align*} \\$5 each. DOL print and mail license. Quantity Total \$
Application method (check one, see first page for fees) ☐ Board approval to begin experience program ☐ Reciprocity ☐ Direct registration via NCARB

Personal information

rei soliai illioi illatioli				
TYPE or PRINT Name (as you would like it to appear on your license)				
Full legal name (First, Middle, Last)				
Social Security number* (or ITIN, Green Card, Canadian SIN)	Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy)			
Mailing address		1		
City	State	ZIP code	County	
10-digit daytime phone number	1	0-digit residence p	phone number	
Email				
Would you like to be added to the Board's electronic mailing list? ☐ Yes ☐ No	If NCARB certified, enter certification number			
Military? (check if applicable)				
Current or former: \square Military member \square Military sp	oouse	or domestic p	partner	

^{*}You are not required to have a Social Security Number (SSN) or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN or TIN) to apply for or be issued a license. If you do not have a SSN, ITIN, or TIN, leave that section blank. If you do have a SSN, ITIN, or TIN, you are required by federal and state law to provide it on the application (42 U.S.C. 666(a)(13) and RCW 74.20A.320).

Personal information (continued)

For Service members and their spouses: When a Service member and their spouse must move due to Military orders, Washington state may recognize their current license or certificate if they provide the following:

- 1. A copy of the military orders.
- 2. A license that is in good standing in all states where the individual held their license before.
 - a. During application review, DOL may request an original Certificate of Licensure or Letter of Good Standing from each state.
 - b. There may be continuing education requirements needed for DOL to recognize the license.

State			License number			Expiration date (mm/dd/yyyy)		
eciprocity only								
urrent state of licensure	Date of orig	al registration Registration number			State where qualifying exams taker			
						<u> </u>		
ducational backgr ame of college, university, ted		Location		Dates of attendance From To	Degree			
arrie or conege, university, tec	inical scrioor	Location		110111 10	Degree			
oplicable education and upplemental training		Location		Dates of attendance From To	Certificate	/Degree, etc.		
gal background								
nswer the following nswer the questions l	below. If yo	u answer "Y	es," attach	a detailed explar	nation.			
Within the last 5 ye								
action (fine, susper professional or occ						ny □ Yes □ No		
		,	, - [

or been convicted of, or entered a plea of no contest to a gross misdemeanor or

Qualifying experience – Place in chronological order (Most recent first)

Include only **practical work experience** performing activities involved in the practice of **architecture**. A resume alone is not enough.

Period of employment Month/Year	Total hours worked per week	Nature of service performed – List types of projects, major duties	Verifier name – Should match the name listed on your Employment and Experience Summary
From			
То			
From			
То	-		
From			
То	-		
From			
То	-		
From			
То	-		
From			
То	-		
From			
То	-		
From			
То	-		
From			
То	-		
	From To From	From To From	From To From To

If additional space is required, please attach an 8 1/2" x 11" sheet.

Certification

Unsigned applications will not be accepted by the Board. Before signing, you must familiarize yourself with the architect laws and rules. If you are downloading the application packet from the architect web site, also download the RCWs (laws) and WACs (rules) posted there.

Ansv	wer the following
	Do you agree to abide by all the applicable laws and rules regarding the practice of architecture? ☐ Yes ☐ No
	Do you authorize any business associates (past and present) and any governmental agencies (local, state, or federal) to release to the Department of Licensing any information, files, or records which may be required for a background investigation? \square Yes \square No
	Do you understand that if you provide any false information in this application we may deny, suspend, or revoke your license to practice in Washington? \square Yes \square No
Арр	plicant signature–Sign and date the declaration below.
I de	clare under penalty of perjury under the law of Washington that the foregoing is true and correct.
TYF	PE or PRINT Name
X	
App	olicant signature
Date	e and place (city or county) signed

Providing false information in this application may be cause for denial, suspension, or revocation of your professional license in the State of Washington.