
Registered Tow Truck Operator Checklist
Use this checklist of commonly missed items to avoid delays in the application process for your registered tow 
truck operator license. Please be sure to read the Instructions for Completing the Vehicle Transport/Disposal 
Addendum for detailed information.
	 Each	different	business	location	requires	a	separate	Business	License	Application.	This	includes	storage	
yards	or	any	other	place	you	conduct	your	business	that	have	a	different	address	than	your	main	place	
of business. If the Washington State Patrol Inspection Report form (see checkbox below) lists additional 
addresses,	you	will	need	a	separate	Business	License	Application	and	Addendum	for	each	one.

 Have you obtained an Inspection Report from the Washington State Patrol? You must arrange to have all 
your	business	facilities	and	equipment	inspected	by	the	Washington	State	Patrol	before	submitting	your	
application. Attach the completed Washington State Patrol Tow Truck Business Operator Equipment 
Inspection Report form to your applications.

 Is your insurance complete and accurate? You must submit proof that the business carries the following 
insurance	coverage	and	that	it	is	listed	clearly	on	your	insurance	certificate:
 • At least $100,000 liability for bodily injury or property damage;
 • At least $50,000 on-hook/cargo coverage; and
 • At least $50,000 Garage keepers.

 Have you included the correct fees? See Vehicle	–	Related	License	and	Fee	Description	Sheet	(BLS-700-185).
 Remember to include $50 for each truck permit. Each truck operated by your business must have a permit.
 Have you signed the Bond	form	(DLR-430-205) or are all partners’ signatures provided? Does your 

business name and city on the application exactly match the business name and city on the bond? Please 
refer	to	section	B	of	the	Vehicle	Transport/Disposal	Addendum	instructions	(BLS-700-188) as to who 
should sign the bond and how the bond name should appear. Does the bond have a commencing date? 
Is	the	bond	form	signed	by	the	Attorney-In-Fact	for	the	bonding	company?	Incorrect	bonds	delay	license	
approval.

 Have you included your Registered	Tow	Truck	Operator	Official	Fees	form	(DLR-430-234), stating the fees 
you	charge	for	the	various	tow	truck	services	you	offer?

	 Have	you	included	your	completed	Driver	List	with	the	names	of	all	employees	who	will	serve	as	tow	truck	
drivers at the location named on the application?

	 Listserv	Activation
 • What	is	Listserv? 
Listserv	is	a	free	and	automated	email	distribution	service	through	which	we	distribute	our	Industry	
Newsletter and other very important information to our licensees. It’s economical and ensures you get 
this	information	quickly.

 • Ensure the integrity of your license by keeping up-to-date on any changes to statutes, changes in the 
Department, and any other new information for licensees. The newsletter is the primary way that Dealer 
Services communicates important information to you.

 • How	do	I	sign	up	for	Listserv?
 – Click	on	the	link	below,	and	then	follow	the	directions	on	the	page: 
Registered Tow Truck Operators, Transporters, Wreckers, Scrap Processors, and Hulk Haulers

 • For	more	information,	contact	Dealer	Services	at	(360)	664-6455.
	 Your	business	location	must	meet	the	requirements	as	described	in	46.55.060.	Refer	to	location	
requirements	provided	below.
It is your responsibility to ensure that your business site complies with all applicable building codes, zoning, 
and other land-use ordinances (contact the city/county zoning department). You must have a local zoning 
official	sign	Section	F	of	the	addendum	to	certify	compliance	of	your	business	location	with	land	use	
ordinances.
The	files	shall	be	kept	at	the	address	that	is	listed	on	the	Business	License	Application.	Each	separate	
business	location	requires	a	separate	Business	License	Application	and	Vehicle	Transport/Disposal	
Addendum. If you operate additional impound areas away from this business, you must register each 
location separately. The application shall also list all locations of secure areas for vehicle storage and 
redemption.
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https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/2022-02/700185.pdf
https://www.dol.wa.gov/forms/430205.pdf
https://dor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/2022-03/700-188.pdf
https://www.dol.wa.gov/forms/430234.pdf
http://listserv.dol.wa.gov/scripts/wa-DOLWA.exe?A0=RTTO-TRANS-WRECKER-SCRAP-HULK&X=OE007E83065429A9D88&Y


Here’s a list of requirements for your business location(s):
 • Each	business	location	must	have	a	sign	displaying	the	firm’s	name	that	is	readable	from	the	street.
 • At the business locations listed where vehicles may be redeemed, the registered operator shall post in a 
conspicuous	and	accessible	location:

 – The current towing and storage charges itemized on a form approved by the Department;
 – The vehicle redemption procedure and rights; and
 – Information	supplied	by	the	Department	as	to	where	complaints	regarding	either	equipment	or	service	
are to be directed.

 • On any day when the registered tow truck operator holds the towing services open for business, the 
business	office	shall	remain	open	with	personnel	present	who	are	able	to	release	impounded	vehicles	
in accordance with this chapter and the rules adopted under it. The normal business hours of a towing 
service	shall	be	from	8:00	a.m.	to	5:00	p.m.	on	weekdays,	excluding	Saturdays,	Sundays,	and	holidays.

 • A registered tow truck operator shall maintain personnel who can be contacted twenty-four hours a day 
to release impounded vehicles within a reasonable time.

 • A registered tow truck operator shall provide access to a telephone for any person redeeming a vehicle, 
at the time of redemption.
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