WASHINGTON STATE DEPARTMENT OF

Neighborhood/Medium-Speed Electric Vehicle Certification

Use this form to certify your electric vehicle meets the definition of a neighborhood electric vehicle (NEV) or medium-speed electric vehicle (MEV). When completed, take this form to any vehicle licensing office.

Where can I ride my NEV or MEV?

- Permitted on roads with a speed limit of up to 35 miles per hour unless banned by local law.
- Permitted to operate in San Juan County on roads with a speed limit of up to 45 miles per hour.
- Not permitted on streets and highways that are part of the state highway system.

Are there other requirements?

- · Operator must have a valid driver license
- · Vehicle must be registered and display license plates
- Operator must have liability insurance

Electric vehicle type (choose one):

□ Neighborhood electric vehicle (NEV) defined as:

- · A self-propelled, electrically powered four-wheeled motor vehicle
- Speed is at least 20 miles per hour and not more than 25 miles per hour, attainable within one mile
- · Conforms to federal regulations.

□ Medium-speed electric vehicle (MEV) defined as:

- · A self-propelled, electrically powered four-wheeled motor vehicle
- Equipped with a roll cage or crush-proof body design
- Speed is at least 30 miles per hour and not more than 35 miles per hour, attainable within one mile
- Meets or exceeds federal regulations.

Vehicle information

License plate number	Vehicle identification number (VIN)	Model year	Make
Model or series		Body style	
		Der Passenge	er 🛛 Truck (equipped with bed)

Owner information

Vehicle owner name (Last, First, Middle)			
Answer the following			
Do you understand that it is a traffic infraction:			
1. To use this vehicle on roads other than those permitted by law?	🗆 No		
2. To operate this vehicle without a valid driver license?	🗆 No		
3. If this vehicle is not registered with Washington's Department of Licensing and			
does not display licensed plates?	🗆 No		
4. If the operator does not have liability insurance?			

I declare under penalty of perjury under the law of Washington that the foregoing is true and correct.

Х

Date and place (city or county) signed

Vehicle owner signature